Books by Ronald Levitsky

Released: June 1, 1994

"The sorry answers in the case take Nate far beyond the question of Bixby's guilt and the welfare of the kids in Arbor Shore High School for a walk on cushy suburbia's wildest side—seen here as if by a sympathetic foreign observer with compassion and surgical precision."
After defending civil-rights cases from Virginia (The Love That Kills, 1991) to North Dakota (Stone Boy, 1993), Nate Rosen comes home to Chicago to visit his 15-year-old daughter Sarah—and walks into the middle of an even more volatile case: Sarah's friend Nina Melendez, whose mother and aunt (primed by Nina's diary) have accused her teacher Martin Bixby of molesting her, is found at the bottom of a convenient ravine. Read full book review >
STONE BOY by Ronald Levitsky
Released: June 1, 1993

"One skeleton too many in the Bear Coat closet and an overextended finale keep this out of the class of Rosen's first two cases—but nobody rivals Levitsky's ability to get you to care about people who turn out to be weaker, greedier, and sadder than you ever imagined."
The murder of rancher Albert Gates shortly after he paid Will True Sky $500 for a sacred medicine bag that the Lakota man had found on Gates's land brings civil-rights lawyer Nate Rosen (The Love That Kills, The Wisdom of Serpents) to Bear Coat, South Dakota, where he finds Will's family—especially his stubborn father Saul True Sky and his half-breed sister Grace Jenkins—locked in a feud with Gates's widow Belle and the town fathers, who want to confiscate a piece of land Saul owns in order to open an Old West theme park in neighboring Tin Town. Read full book review >
Released: June 10, 1992

"Don't be fooled by sensitive Nate's low profile: Levitsky is already turning out some of the strongest detective fiction since Ross Macdonald."
Civil-rights lawyer Nate Rosen (The Love That Kills, 1991), called by his old friend Jesse Compton to Earlyville, Tennessee, to defend snake-handling Rev. Read full book review >
THE LOVE THAT KILLS by Ronald Levitsky
Released: July 1, 1991

"Don't miss this one."
A first novel that soberly, without fanfare or gimmickry, tells the story of Edison Basehart, the militant white supremacist arrested for killing Vietnamese immigrant Hguyen Thi Nhi, in quiet Musket Shoals, Virginia; Jimmy Wilkes, the young prosecutor assigned by his aging patron Edgar Simpson to get a fast conviction; and Nate Rosen, the attorney from the Committee for the Defense of the Constitution who's been sent to assist in the defense of the virulently anti- Semitic Basehart. Read full book review >