Books by Rosemary Aubert

Rosemary Aubert has herself worked in the criminal courts, giving her the knowledge and expertise necessary to write about them. Since The Feast of Stephen is only her second murder mystery book, one may overlook the fact that some of the clues presented

LEAVE ME BY DYING by Rosemary Aubert
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Probing, sensitive, and rewarding. Despite the eminently predictable dénouement, Ellis's followers will treasure this glimpse of what made him the complicated man he turned into (The Ferryman Will Be There, 2001, etc.)."
Ellis Portal's fourth adventure is a prequel that takes him back to the days before he was a street person, a disgraced judge, even a rising young lawyer. Read full book review >
Released: June 1, 2001

"The most conventional of Ellis's three cases, but still heartfelt and often piercing in its portrayal of life on the edge for all the once and future homeless."
A third walk on the wild side for Ellis Portal (The Feast of Stephen, 1999, etc.), former judge and former street person, whose police contact, Sgt. Read full book review >
FREE REIGN by Rosemary Aubert
Released: May 1, 1997

"An offbeat and engaging hero (whose adventures the day he's dressed in his last good suit are worth the price of admission) presents his story with lacerating self-insight in Aubert's lyrical, powerful first novel."
Thirty years ago, when they were all brash law school graduates, John Stoughton-Melville exchanged with his four best friends a promise that they'd each respond to an urgent appeal from any of the others, no questions asked—and sealed the compact with a gift of distinctive gold rings to each of the others. Read full book review >