Books by Sarah Rees Brennan

Sarah Rees Brennan snuck the novels of Robin McKinley, Margaret Mahy and Diana Wynne Jones into her Irish high school to read under the desk in class. Her Demon's Lexicon Trilogy presents the charismatic Ryves brothers, who have more than a few secrets they need to keep, in an urban-fantasy epic Kirkus called "a relentless rollercoaster of magical intrigue, deception, betrayal, counter-betrayal, violence, tragedy, heartbreak and sacrifice." Goes to show what a little extracurricular reading can produce.

IN OTHER LANDS by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"A stellar, if dense and lengthy, coming-of-age novel; those with the patience to sit through our hero's entire adolescence will find it a wholly rewarding journey. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
Four years in the life of an unloved English schoolboy who's invited to a secret magical school and learns that even in fantasyland, real life is messier than books. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 15, 2016

"Stuffed with cameos from nearly every character of note from the Shadowhunter universe, there's not even enough room here for fan service. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
Ten previously published short stories take Simon from amnesia to Ascension. Read full book review >
TELL THE WIND AND FIRE by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: April 5, 2016

"This respectful and occasionally clever homage may be most appreciated by those least familiar with the original. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
"It was the best of times until it was the worst of times" in a fantastical Tale of Two Cities.Read full book review >
THE BANE CHRONICLES by Cassandra Clare
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"Only for series completists and fans of Magnus Bane—but who isn't a fan of Magnus Bane? (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
Eleven short stories about two centuries in the life of everyone's favorite bisexual, biracial, immortal warlock from Clare's hyperpopular Shadowhunters series, most previously published in electronic-only editions. Read full book review >
UNTOLD  by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"A hot mess of a book but weirdly compelling; buy where the first has eager fans. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Middle-book syndrome strikes hard in this nouveau-gothic paranormal sequel. Read full book review >
UNSPOKEN by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: Sept. 25, 2012

"Far too self-consciously clever to be truly emotionally absorbing, this is nonetheless an enjoyable tribute for established fans of the gothic, as well as an enticing introduction for new ones. (Fantasy. 11-17)"
Sassy girl detective meets overwrought gothic romance, and it goes about as well as you'd expect. Read full book review >
Released: July 3, 2012

"Laugh-out-loud funny, heart-wrenchingly sad and fist-pump-in-the-air triumphant, this sparkling gem proves that vampires, zombies and even teenagers…at heart, we're all on Team Human. (Fantasy. 12 & up.)"
Both lovers and loathers of teen vampire romance will revel in this hilarious satirical take on the genre. Read full book review >
THE DEMON'S SURRENDER by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: June 14, 2011

"Flashes of quicksilver humor and a tentative Happy-For-Now don't quite overcome the ominous reminder that, when treating with demons, they 'always take more than you can afford to pay.' (Urban fantasy. 14 & up)"
Demons aren't the worst evil stalking a gritty alternative England in the conclusion to an outstanding urban-fantasy trilogy. Read full book review >
THE DEMON’S COVENANT by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: May 18, 2010

"Not to be missed. (Fantasy. YA)"
Plots thicken, characters deepen and snark is bantered with witty abandon in this dark fantasy sequel to The Demon's Lexicon (2009). Read full book review >
THE DEMON’S LEXICON by Sarah Rees  Brennan
Released: June 2, 2009

"Delicious. (Fantasy. YA)"
A fresh voice dancing between wicked humor and crepuscular sumptuousness invigorates this urban fantasy. Read full book review >