Books by Steven Saylor

THE THRONE OF CAESAR by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"The 16th volume in Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa series (The Triumph of Caesar, 2008, etc.) uses the reader's foreknowledge of history to create a special kind of suspense. Its slow pace and abundant period detail tantalize, as Gordianus has multiple near misses with the truth."
Veteran Roman investigator Gordianus tries to ease the fears of an obsessed Julius Caesar by locating the cabal that may be plotting against him. Read full book review >
WRATH OF THE FURIES by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"Religious war, ethnic cleansing—everything new is old again in the era of swords, togas, and defeated generals executed by being forced to swallow molten gold."
In Saylor's (Raiders of the Nile, 2014, etc.) newest novel of the ancient world, Mithridates, who styles himself Shahansha—King of Kings—has conquered Roman colonies from the Euxine Sea to Persia. Read full book review >
RAIDERS OF THE NILE by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of James Lee Burke or Lee Child will enjoy a two-millennium time shift to tour the dark corners of ancient Egypt."
Saylor's (The Seven Wonders, 2012, etc.) latest historical adventure chronicles young Gordianus' adventures as he gets trapped in a scheme to loot Alexander the Great's sarcophagus. Read full book review >
THE TRIUMPH OF CAESAR by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 13, 2008

"Gordianus doesn't distinguish himself as a detective, and readers possessed of historical hindsight will easily eliminate most of the high-profile suspects. Still, no contemporary novelist approaches Saylor's continued ability to bring ancient Rome to life."
Suspecting a plot against Julius Caesar, his wife Calpurnia calls on Gordianus the Finder to head it off. Read full book review >
ROMA by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2007

"Like James Michener, Saylor the novelist (A Gladiator Dies Only Once, 2005, etc.) is upstaged by Saylor the historian—except when he suggests that history itself is fact-based fiction."
Livy meets Michener in this sprawling, episodic 1,000-year novel of the rise of ancient Rome from its first settlement to the assassination of Julius Caesar. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2005

Ancient Rome's preeminent private eye plies his trade in nine reprints culled from the past ten years. Read full book review >
THE JUDGMENT OF CAESAR by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 23, 2004

"Expert mystery-mongering closely woven into a pageant featuring the most star-studded cast imaginable. Fans of the historical mystery couldn't do better."
Traveling to Alexandria in 48 b.c. in hope of curing his Egyptian wife's illness, Gordianus the Finder learns once more that "these days, no place is safer than any other." Read full book review >
HAVE YOU SEEN DAWN? by Steven Saylor
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Taut narrative, some good characters, and a well-drawn setting: an enjoyable and suspenseful read."
The author of the popular tales of Roman sleuth Gordianus the Finder (A Mist of Prophecies, p. 458) now turns to Texas, where a teenaged girl's disappearance casts suspicion on just about everyone. Read full book review >
A MIST OF PROPHECIES by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"Newcomers to the series are advised to start, for example, with Last Seen in Massilia (2000)."
Like her ill-fated namesake who prophesied the fall of Troy and her own death, the Roman seer who called herself Cassandra profited little from her gift of second sight, reflects Gordianus the Finder as the meager funeral procession he's organized approaches her cremation site. Read full book review >
LAST SEEN IN MASSILLIA by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"In this exemplary eighth installment, Saylor links the case at hand to his larger concerns, the ongoing domestic saga of Gordianus' family and the fate of Rome, with matchless elegance."
Like the Hatfields and the McCoys, the generals fighting over control of Rome have left a legacy of unending strife. Read full book review >
A TWIST AT THE END by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 2000

"A conscientious historical reconstruction that still packs less punch than any number of its literary hero's own ten-page anecdotes."
And now for something completely American from the author of the highly successful tales of Roman sleuth Gordianus the Finder (Rubicon, 1999, etc.): a ponderous tale based on a real-life Texas murder case. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 12, 1997

"All the others could well follow."
It's no wonder Gordianus the Finder solves so many of these nine cases in a single flash of insight. Read full book review >
A MURDER ON THE APPIAN WAY by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 1996

"Maybe some bones should just be let lie."
It's 52 B.C.: an evil time for Rome. Read full book review >
THE VENUS THROW by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 26, 1995

"The remarkably vivid and finely etched historical background at once roots the characters firmly in their time and brings them alive for our own—in this finest flower yet of Saylor's admirable Roma sub Rosa series."
A brilliantly effective return to straight detection for Gordianus the Finder (Catilina's Riddle, 1993, etc.), who now turns away his old teacher, Dio of Alexandria—the Egyptian ambassador who fears assassination by hirelings of the king, whose reign over Egypt he's come to Rome to protest—only to find on his return to Rome that Dio was murdered the very night he left Gordianus' house. Read full book review >
CATILINA'S RIDDLE by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 25, 1993

"The result is a spacious, provocative portrait of a fictional detective confronted with a historical mystery finally beyond his powers."
Gordianus the Finder—legman and sleuth for the orator Marcus Tullius Cicero in Roman Blood (1991) and Arms of Nemesis (1992)—gets swept up in the epochal Catiline conspiracy in this ambitious crossover novel. Read full book review >
ARMS OF NEMESIS by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 19, 1992

"Wily Cicero's absence leaves Gordianus without much of a plot, but Saylor convincingly transposes the English country-house conventions to ancient Rome, and his scene-setting—especially at the Sibyl's shrine at Cumae—is effectively atmospheric."
Gordianus the Finder, Cicero's hired investigator who first appeared in Roman Blood (1991), gets his own case when Marcus Crassus, the richest man in the world, summons him to his opulent villa to look into the murder of Crassus' cousin and overseer Lucius Licinius. Read full book review >
ROMAN BLOOD by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 22, 1991

"More genuine mystery and detection than in Ron Burns's Roman Nights (see above), with two handsome surprises saved for last."
From the papers of Marcus Tullius Cicero comes this first novel, a fictionalization of the immortal Roman orator's first important case—his defense of well-heeled farmer Sextus Roscius on the charge of killing his bated father. Read full book review >