Books by Suzanne Phillips

BURN by Suzanne Phillips
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

Like a traffic accident you can see coming a mile off and then can't look away from, Phillips's cautionary tale horrifies and disturbs as it rolls out the story of a bullied ninth-grade boy who, after being pushed to the wall, finally explodes. Cameron Grady, slight and long-haired, lives comfortably under the radar until his high-school gym teacher accidentally misidentifies him as a girl. From that moment on, Cameron is viciously harassed and terrorized by members of the football team, led by the chillingly real meaner-than-mean Rich Patterson. It's hard not to feel sympathy for this set-upon youngster who is so helplessly trapped in high-school hell, and as Cameron slowly unravels, the author does a good job of making the audience feel his anguish and humiliation. The issue of how culpable he is for his later actions is also deftly dramatized, but it is far more ambiguous and complex, and will give teen readers something to ponder. (Fiction. 12 & up)Read full book review >
CHLOE DOE by Suzanne Phillips
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"Doe" is the last name Chloe has adopted for herself, a label of anonymity that separates her from her mother and her mother's string of worthless boyfriends. After a traumatic incident at home, which Chloe doesn't reveal until near the end of the story, Chloe runs away from home and makes a living as a prostitute until she's picked up by the police. Because she's underage, she's given the choice of juvenile hall or the Madeline Parker Hospital. A toss of a coin sends her to Madeline Parker, where a compassionate doctor and highly structured living help Chloe to face the monsters of her past. In spare dialogue and memories, she tells a story of abuse and murder, and through therapy she begins to gain the courage to go back into the world and, as she puts it, live. Although Chloe's voice is often wise beyond her years, even given her life experience, readers will stay with Chloe's story. This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins. (Fiction. YA)Read full book review >