Books by Tanith Lee

INDIGARA by Tanith Lee
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

Kid and loyal robot dog visit a confusing alternate dimension. Read full book review >
PIRATICA II by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Perhaps Piratica III will return to the thrilling days of yesteryear. (Fiction. YA)"
While those who adored Piratica will probably long for this sequel, it lacks much of the spark and energy of its delicious forebear. Read full book review >
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"And the thrilling dénouement is romantic as heck. (Fiction. YA)"
A glorious roustabout of a tale, full of yummy set pieces and terrific adventures, unbelievable in a most satisfying way. Read full book review >
MORTAL SUNS by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 4, 2003

"The gods are cruel and capricious, and Lee spares no detail through 336 pages of soporific, tormented, occasionally unintelligible prose."
Manufactured mythology, from the author of White as Snow (2000), etc. Read full book review >
WOLF STAR by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2001

"As part of the series, this is essential; but as a standalone, it's likely to leave readers as much puzzled as enchanted. (Fiction. 11+)"
In this fascinating but frustrating sequel to Wolf Tower (2000), Lee continues her heroine's imaginary journal. Read full book review >
WOLF QUEEN by Tanith Lee
FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2001

"Still, this lightweight confection provides some essential closure. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Loose ends are tied up with almost painful tidiness in Lee's (Wolf Star, 2001, etc.) third entry in the series. Read full book review >
WHITE AS SNOW by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"What with the illogical plot and largely unsympathetic characters, even Lee's stylish prose can't breathe new vitality into the familiar old tale."
Addition to this publisher's series of rewritten/reinterpreted fairy tales, from British fantasist Lee (Saint Fire, 1999, etc.), with series editor Terri Windling providing a substantial, scholarly introduction. Read full book review >
WOLF TOWER by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"A diverting escapade for fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994), Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted (1997), and the like. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Lee (Saint Fire, not reviewed, etc.) opens a new series framed, belt and suspenders, in chapters and diary entries. Read full book review >
SAINT FIRE by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 22, 1999

"Evocative, and set forth in Lee's eerily crystalline prose; but, like her previous outing (The Gods are Thirsty, 1996), held back by being trite and overextended."
Second entry in Lee's latest fantasy tetralogy (following Faces Under Water, not seen) set in Venus, an alternate-world medieval Venice. Read full book review >
THE GODS ARE THIRSTY by Tanith Lee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 25, 1996

 In a substantial shift from her recent fantasy/horror efforts (Darkness, I, 1996, etc.), Lee turns to the dreams and horrors of the French Revolution to give a sexually charged, if massive, account of its first citizens. Read full book review >
DARKNESS, I by Tanith Lee
THRILLERS
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"A noteworthy vampire variant, set forth in Lee's remarkably textured, glittering prose, though the numerous meandering, occasionally coinciding plotlets provide insufficient structural firmness to really compel the attention."
 Third in a hitherto paperback fantasy/horror series (Personal Darkness, etc.) about the immortal, predatory, vampirish Scarabae- -although they aren't obliged to drink blood, nor are they much bothered by daylight, crucifixes, or garlic. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF THE MAD by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 5, 1993

"Sheer enchantment."
 The culmination of Lee's horror-fantasy tetralogy (The Book of the Dead, 1992, etc.). Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF THE DEAD by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 13, 1992

"Slight and disappointingly mediocre fare after splendid work (The Book of the Beast, 1991) last time out."
 Third of Lee's hitherto impressive Secret Books of Paradys: eight odd tales set in a forgotten French city where magic works and horrid things lurk in dark corners. Read full book review >
BLACK UNICORN by Tanith Lee
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Oct. 30, 1991

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 12+)"
 Although she's the daughter of sorceress Jaive, Tanaquil herself has no magic; but she does have the ability to mend anything. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF THE BEAST by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 14, 1991

"Enthralling."
 Second of Lee's projected four-book fantasy series (The Book of the Damned, 1990), set in the forgotten French city Paradys: nine linked stories that add up to a well-rounded, satisfying whole. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF THE DAMNED: The Secret Books of Parady by Tanith Lee
Released: Dec. 10, 1990

First of a four-book series from one of Britain's leading fantasists (Dreams of Dark and Light, 1986): three long gothic tales set in the surreal, anachronistic, half-forgotten French city of Paradys. Read full book review >