Books by Ted Bell

PATRIOT by Ted Bell
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Loaded with action and driven by a man of improbably admirable qualities, this adventure is a great escape from reality."
A rip-roaring thriller wherein the hero must protect both his son and the free world from an erstwhile friend. Read full book review >
WARRIORS by Ted Bell
Released: April 1, 2014

"Near the end, a villain exclaims, 'Then bring me the head of Alexander Hawke!' Really, there's no need. When we finish enjoying Warriors, just bring us Hawke's next lively adventure."
Bell's Warriors is the eighth Alex Hawke thriller, and it's fun in its own fast-moving, quirky way. Read full book review >
PHANTOM by Ted Bell
Released: March 20, 2012

"A long novel that is short on suspense but still keeps the reader involved with its charmingly unflappable hero and narrative quirks, as well as the ease with which it unfolds on multiple continents, on land and sea and in air."
Strange disasters are occurring around the world. Read full book review >
WARLORD by Ted Bell
Released: Oct. 5, 2010

"A meaty, entertaining thriller, sometimes predictable, more often not—just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming."
From Bell (Nick of Time, 2008, etc.), a James Bondish adventure brought up to date with Middle Eastern terrorists, Russian baddies and assorted other denizens of evil empires around the world. Read full book review >
Released: April 13, 2010

"Laced with old-timey language, wild coincidences, arbitrarily trotted-out bit players from the Marquis de Lafayette and Winston Churchill to the odd strumpet or Indian warrior, lurid murders ('The dying victims' blood mingled with the juice from hundreds of crates of tomatoes') and explosions aplenty, this doorstopper sequel to Nick of Time (2008) may have a certain retro appeal to adrenaline junkies. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Laboriously harking back to the pulp juveniles of yestercentury—or at least their melodramatic plotting and uncomplicated values—Bell presents the continued exploits of intrepid teen Nick McIver, boy time traveler. Read full book review >
NICK OF TIME by Ted Bell
Released: May 13, 2008

"Bell should have left this one in his sea chest. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
The author of several Ian Fleming-style thrillers for adults reworks his lengthy self-published 2000 debut into a windy, labored and even longer doorstopper. Read full book review >
HAWKE by Ted Bell
Released: June 3, 2003

"Bell's first is so over the top—in a genre where hyperbole, bombast, and implausibility are the norm—as to seem a spoof. The most compelling reason to push to the end of this jerkin-ripper is to see whether Hawke will swing from a chandelier during swordplay."
Not-so-secret agent Alexander Hawke makes James Bond look like a slovenly, dull-witted clock-puncher as he saves the world from Cuban coup plotters, post-Soviet arms dealers, Middle Eastern germ warfare, nuclear destruction, and bad manners. Read full book review >