Book List

20 Debuts From Authors To Watch

  • FICTION

    MOOD SWINGS

    MAY 21, 2024

  • FICTION

    DEAD IN LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA

    JAN. 23, 2024

  • FICTION

    THE SAFEKEEP

    MAY 28, 2024

  • FICTION

    EARLY SOBRIETIES

    MAY 7, 2024

FICTION

EARLY SOBRIETIES

by Michael Deagler

Wry, sharp, charming, resistant to neat closures and easy turns—a debut of enormous promise. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE OTHER VALLEY

    FEB. 27, 2024

FICTION

THE OTHER VALLEY

by Scott Alexander Howard

A thought-provoking exploration of ethics, power, love, and time travel that is perfect for fans of Ishiguro and McEwan. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    GLORIOUS EXPLOITS

    MARCH 26, 2024

  • FICTION

    SMOKE KINGS

    FEB. 6, 2024

FICTION

SMOKE KINGS

by Jahmal Mayfield

A provocative, page-turning treatment of racism in America. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    I HOPE THIS FINDS YOU WELL

    MAY 21, 2024

FICTION

I HOPE THIS FINDS YOU WELL

by Natalie Sue

A beautiful, honest, and often funny look at loneliness and the courage it takes to simply keep going. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE MINISTRY OF TIME

    MAY 7, 2024

FICTION

THE MINISTRY OF TIME

by Kaliane Bradley

This rip-roaring romp pivots between past and present and posits the future-altering power of love, hope, and forgiveness. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    GREAT EXPECTATIONS

    MARCH 12, 2024

  • NONFICTION

    FEEDING GHOSTS

    MARCH 5, 2024

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

FEEDING GHOSTS

by Tessa Hulls ; illustrated by Tessa Hulls

A work that glimmers with insight, acumen, and an unwillingness to settle for simple answers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE STORY GAME

    MAY 21, 2024

  • NONFICTION

    A SURVIVOR'S EDUCATION

    AUG. 20, 2024

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

A SURVIVOR'S EDUCATION

by Joy Neumeyer

A smart, powerful memoir gives a fresh perspective on what it means to be a survivor. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE COMPLICATIONS

    APRIL 23, 2024

  • NONFICTION

    WONDERLAND

    JULY 9, 2024

NONFICTION

WONDERLAND

by Nicole Treska

A poignantly affecting memoir about surviving and thriving. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    I CANNOT CONTROL EVERYTHING FOREVER

    APRIL 16, 2024

NONFICTION

I CANNOT CONTROL EVERYTHING FOREVER

by Emily C. Bloom

Thoughtful reflections on technology and humanity amid difficult parenting experiences. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    GREEN WORLD

    MARCH 1, 2024

  • NONFICTION

    A SEASON FOR THAT

    JULY 9, 2024

  • NONFICTION

    MY SIDE OF THE RIVER

    FEB. 13, 2024

NONFICTION

MY SIDE OF THE RIVER

by Elizabeth Camarillo Gutierrez

A moving story of the humanity at the center of the often-breathless and uninformed immigration debate. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    BIRDING TO CHANGE THE WORLD

    FEB. 27, 2024

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Featuring 289 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children’s, and YA books; also in this issue: interviews with Vashti Harrison, Amandeep Kochar of Baker & Taylor, Elin Hilderbrand, Ann Powers, Tomi Adeyemi; and more

subscribe
  • kirkus star
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • kirkus prize
  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!

Close Quickview