• FICTION

    EUPHORIA

    JUNE 3, 2014

  • NONFICTION

    CAN'T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT?

    MAY 6, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

CAN'T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT?

by Roz Chast illustrated by Roz Chast

A top-notch graphic memoir that adds a whole new dimension to readers’ appreciation of Chast and her work. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH

    AUG. 14, 2014

FICTION

THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH

by Richard Flanagan

When the leads are offstage, the novel approaches greatness in its inquiry into what it means to be a good person. But... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    AMERICANAH

    MAY 17, 2013

FICTION

AMERICANAH

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Soap-operatic in spots, but a fine adult love story with locations both exotic and familiar. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE INTERNAL ENEMY

    SEPT. 9, 2013

HISTORY

THE INTERNAL ENEMY

by Alan Taylor

Full of implication, an expertly woven narrative that forces a new look at “the peculiar institution” in a particular time... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    FIVE DAYS AT MEMORIAL

    SEPT. 10, 2013

NONFICTION

FIVE DAYS AT MEMORIAL

by Sheri Fink

With apparent effortlessness, Fink tells the Memorial story with cogency and atmosphere. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MARGARET FULLER

    MARCH 12, 2013

  • NONFICTION

    FAREWELL, FRED VOODOO

    JAN. 8, 2013

HISTORY

FAREWELL, FRED VOODOO

by Amy Wilentz

An extraordinarily frank cultural study/memoir that eschews platitudes of both tragedy and hope. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!