Book List

Best Nature and Travel Books of 2019

  • NONFICTION

    EMPTY PLANET

    FEB. 5, 2019

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

EMPTY PLANET

by Darrell Bricker & John Ibbitson

A delightfully stimulating and not terribly controversial overview of human demographics. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    FLOATING COAST

    AUG. 20, 2019

HISTORY

FLOATING COAST

by Bathsheba Demuth

A superb book, essential reading for students of the once-and-future Arctic. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MAMA'S LAST HUG

    MARCH 12, 2019

NONFICTION

MAMA'S LAST HUG

by Frans de Waal illustrated by Frans de Waal

De Waal turns his years of research into a delightful and illuminating read for nonscientists, a book that will surely make... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THIS LAND

    JULY 16, 2019

HISTORY

THIS LAND

by Christopher Ketcham

Angry, eloquent, and urgent—required reading for anyone who cares about the Earth. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    OUR WILD CALLING

    NOV. 5, 2019

NONFICTION

OUR WILD CALLING

by Richard Louv

A thoughtfully researched, poetically inspiring call to action that will resonate with a broad range of readers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    UNDERLAND

    JUNE 4, 2019

NONFICTION

UNDERLAND

by Robert Macfarlane

A treasure all its own. Anyone who cares to ponder the world beneath our feet will find this to be an essential text. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    ARCHAEOLOGY FROM SPACE

    JULY 9, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

ARCHAEOLOGY FROM SPACE

by Sarah Parcak

Exciting and futuristic, this book elicits that anything-is-possible feeling—a must-read. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE SEINE

    NOV. 1, 2019

HISTORY

THE SEINE

by Elaine Sciolino

Francophiles will adore this book, and others may become Francophiles as they read. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE OUTLAW OCEAN

    AUG. 20, 2019

NONFICTION

THE OUTLAW OCEAN

by Ian Urbina

A swift-moving, often surprising account of the dangers that face sailors and nations alike on the lawless tide. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE UNINHABITABLE EARTH

    APRIL 16, 2019

NONFICTION

THE UNINHABITABLE EARTH

by David Wallace-Wells

If you weren’t alarmed already, Wallace-Wells sounds the tocsin of toxicity. An urgent, necessary book. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE ADVENTURES OF ALEXANDER VON HUMBOLDT

    APRIL 2, 2019

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

THE ADVENTURES OF ALEXANDER VON HUMBOLDT

by Andrea Wulf ; illustrated by Lillian Melcher

Alexander von Humboldt himself would doubtless have approved. A pleasure for students of science, art, and their... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!