Easily situated to be the primary source for getting your financial life in order.

PADD YOUR WEALTH

An authoritative, all-in-one guide to personal financial planning.

Most current assessments of U.S. consumers’ financial affairs tell a sobering story: Consumers are frequently saddled with educational and credit card debt; most are severely underfunding their retirement. It’s the kind of scenario that demands nothing short of crisis management, and Fevurly’s book is a solid start. While not the panacea for all financial woes, this comprehensive, objective and pertinent guidebook provides plenty of smart, common-sense advice that will benefit almost anyone. Fevurly, an estate planning attorney and personal financial planner, covers all the bases in just enough detail: insurance; investing; income tax planning; expenses like a child’s higher education; the financial impact of life events, such as divorce or death; Social Security; Medicare and more. The author writes in a no-nonsense, straightforward style, moving from subject to subject with adept skill and little drama. Thankfully, he has the ability to explain in simple terms the financial concepts that could otherwise be intimidating to the average reader. Like most financial books, this one has a gimmick: Fevurly offers his advice under an approach he calls “PADD”—Protect your assets, Accumulate monetary wealth, Defend your wealth, and Distribute this wealth during your lifetime for the benefit of yourself, your family and your heirs. It’s an appropriate framework for a financial discussion that is, at times, a bit dry, yet highly relevant to any consumer, regardless the life stage and circumstances. Helpful appendices enhance the text, offering such tools as a data-gathering form, expense worksheets, samples of durable powers of attorney and a glossary.

Easily situated to be the primary source for getting your financial life in order.

Pub Date: Nov. 10, 2011

ISBN: 978-1463792466

Page Count: 436

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: May 31, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2012

A self-help guide with real-world value and applicability, which proves it’s never too late to grow up.

LIVING THE LIFE YOU LOVE

THE NO-NONSENSE GUIDE TO TOTAL TRANSFORMATION

In her practical, hard-hitting yet realistic program for self-improvement, Renaye demonstrates that there’s still plenty to say in the self-help industry.

A professional life coach and transformational speaker, Renaye has created a concise, encyclopedic guide-cum-workbook that does the job of multiple existing titles, all while adding profound, useful insights and strategies to the conversation. She breaks self-exploration and retooling into manageable, sharply focused steps that help push the reader into honest reflection, emotional and physical health, and ultimately, empowerment and maturity. Though hints of other popular spiritual works shine through, such as the creation of vision boards to visualize what you want in life, the perspective is refreshingly grounded, and Renaye’s confessional, empathetic narrative invites readers to identify with her while buying into her approaches. Each chapter focuses on a discrete issue or aspect of life—feeling stuck, body wisdom, living for others—and ends with a transformational insight worksheet (copying is advisable, since space is limited) with questions for self-analysis. Even without the worksheets, tripwires for aha moments run throughout the book. Recognizing that some difficult people are unavoidable, she prescribes stockpiling diversionary tactics in advance. She also lays out simple, sanity-saving strategies for navigating conversations, as well as tips for climbing out of inevitable dips in mood. She expands the vision board concept into a vision script that can help reprogram your thinking, with guidelines, precautions and sample language for recording. She calls her methods tough love, but they’re also deeply human, compassionate and supportive.

A self-help guide with real-world value and applicability, which proves it’s never too late to grow up.

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 2012

ISBN: 978-0967478692

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Diomo Books

Review Posted Online: Sept. 26, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 1, 2012

Highly readable, this engaging manual never veers from its focus of providing the basic skills one needs to tell a story...

LIVING PROOF

TELLING YOUR STORY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE: ESSENTIAL SKILLS FOR ADVOCATES AND SPOKESPERSONS

Smart, well-delivered and timely advice to help advocates and spokespeople tell the most effective stories.

Stories seem to be what consumers crave, particularly if they are heartfelt and authentic; storytelling is responsible for hit reality-television shows, wildly popular brands and carefully packaged politicians, among other things. But stories can also be useful for nonprofit organizations when ordinary people with extraordinary stories are employed as leading advocates for the cause. As authentic as an advocate’s story may be, however, it can always be improved in style and delivery; that’s the mission of this exceptional instructional guide. The authors carefully lead storytellers through examples and exercises to show how to make content more compelling and relevant to the audiences speakers are trying to influence. The authors present many engaging techniques, such as asking advocates to describe their mission in just six words and demonstrating how to create a visual “story map” to document one’s experience. Capecci and Cage convey “the five qualities of effective advocacy stories,” discuss how to develop key messages, and explain how to craft a story and deliver powerful presentations. They also offer advice for how to ace media interviews; the helpful tips and prep sheets they include will make any reader feel more confident in front of a reporter. The book is divided into easy-to-digest chapters, replete with numerous sidebars, graphics and charts. The convenient format makes it possible for readers to move quickly from start to finish or to pick out chapters that target areas of particular interest. All the while, Capecci and Cage weave into the text actual stories told by advocates, so readers gain a full appreciation for the power of storytelling.

Highly readable, this engaging manual never veers from its focus of providing the basic skills one needs to tell a story that can truly make a difference.

Pub Date: March 22, 2012

ISBN: 978-0983870302

Page Count: 212

Publisher: Granville Circle Press

Review Posted Online: April 17, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2012

Fans of Eckhart Tolle, Pia Mellody and Deepak Chopra will enjoy this unique and powerful book.

THIS WAY OUT

THE POWER TO CHANGE

Psychotherapist and life coach Light explores psychology and spirituality in her debut self-help title, offering a new model for personal change.

Light’s profound book offers a clear program for personal growth that is both well-researched and well-explained. Demonstrating expertise in a program she has practiced for more than 30 years, Light promotes Personality Integration Theory and Therapy as a unique blend of psychology and spirituality that can lead to empowerment and awareness. She suggests that this psychological approach is more successful than models based on pathology, reasoning that many issues can be attributed to a lack of maturity rather than mental illness. Light challenges many of Freud’s notions and builds on others, clearly explaining how Personality Integration empowers patients to acquire self-knowledge, embrace adult behaviors and integrate the parts of the self that remain fragmented or unconscious. In her explanation of the theory and therapy, Light explains how her program is both similar to and different from other self-help approaches, including the 12-step programs: Hers begins with the development of a healthy inner relationship—“the first relationship”—and discusses how to move through the stages of survival to end up in a state of thriving. Modern self-help readers will find a satisfying balance of existing and revolutionary concepts. For those who wish to begin exploring this therapy, Light offers workbook-style exercises and quizzes. Readers shouldn’t let the trippy cover fool them into thinking this book is ungrounded—this title is a well-substantiated, fascinating breakthrough in therapy and transformation. Light’s marriage of psychology and spirituality is sure to satisfy modern seekers of self-enhancement.

Fans of Eckhart Tolle, Pia Mellody and Deepak Chopra will enjoy this unique and powerful book.

Pub Date: Sept. 23, 2011

ISBN: 978-1426926273

Page Count: 276

Publisher: Trafford

Review Posted Online: April 17, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2012

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Jenn Shapland reclaims a queer icon in My Autobiography of Carson McCullers.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2019 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!

Looks good !! Please provide a valid email.