THIS WAY OUT by Diane  Light
Kirkus Star

THIS WAY OUT

The Power to Change

KIRKUS REVIEW

Psychotherapist and life coach Light explores psychology and spirituality in her debut self-help title, offering a new model for personal change.

Light’s profound book offers a clear program for personal growth that is both well-researched and well-explained. Demonstrating expertise in a program she has practiced for more than 30 years, Light promotes Personality Integration Theory and Therapy as a unique blend of psychology and spirituality that can lead to empowerment and awareness. She suggests that this psychological approach is more successful than models based on pathology, reasoning that many issues can be attributed to a lack of maturity rather than mental illness. Light challenges many of Freud’s notions and builds on others, clearly explaining how Personality Integration empowers patients to acquire self-knowledge, embrace adult behaviors and integrate the parts of the self that remain fragmented or unconscious. In her explanation of the theory and therapy, Light explains how her program is both similar to and different from other self-help approaches, including the 12-step programs: Hers begins with the development of a healthy inner relationship—“the first relationship”—and discusses how to move through the stages of survival to end up in a state of thriving. Modern self-help readers will find a satisfying balance of existing and revolutionary concepts. For those who wish to begin exploring this therapy, Light offers workbook-style exercises and quizzes. Readers shouldn’t let the trippy cover fool them into thinking this book is ungrounded—this title is a well-substantiated, fascinating breakthrough in therapy and transformation. Light’s marriage of psychology and spirituality is sure to satisfy modern seekers of self-enhancement.

Fans of Eckhart Tolle, Pia Mellody and Deepak Chopra will enjoy this unique and powerful book.

Pub Date: Sept. 23rd, 2011
ISBN: 978-1426926273
Page count: 276pp
Publisher: Trafford
Program: Kirkus Indie
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15th, 2012




BEST INDIE BOOKS OF 2012: RELIGION & SPIRITUALITY:

IndieTHE JOURNEY HOME by Radhanath Swami
by Radhanath Swami
IndieFROM THIS WICKED PATCH OF DUST by Sergio Troncoso
by Sergio Troncoso
IndieTHE IMMORTALISTS by Gabriel David
by Gabriel David
IndieTHIS WAY OUT by Diane  Light
by Diane Light

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

NonfictionTHE TOOLS by Phil Stutz
by Phil Stutz
IndieSTRESS PANDEMIC by Paul Huljich
by Paul Huljich
IndieTHE HEALTHY PERSONALITY by John P. Kildahl
by John P. Kildahl