Book List

Best Picture-Book Biographies of 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    SHAPED BY HER HANDS

    APRIL 1, 2021

CHILDREN'S

SHAPED BY HER HANDS

by Anna Harber Freeman & Barbara Gonzales ; illustrated by Aphelandra

A deserved celebration of a famous Tewa potter who elevated her craft to fine art. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I AM ODD, I AM NEW

    SEPT. 28, 2021

CHILDREN'S

I AM ODD, I AM NEW

by Benjamin Giroux ; illustrated by Roz MacLean

Giroux expresses core truths through his insightful and heartfelt poem. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE FEARLESS FLIGHTS OF HAZEL YING LEE

    FEB. 2, 2021

CHILDREN'S

THE FEARLESS FLIGHTS OF HAZEL YING LEE

by Julie Leung ; illustrated by Julie Kwon

Another welcome biography of an Asian American contributor to U.S. history. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    ARELI IS A DREAMER

    JUNE 8, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    PURA'S CUENTOS

    SEPT. 7, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    SONG FOR JIMI

    OCT. 19, 2021

CHILDREN'S

SONG FOR JIMI

by Charles R. Smith Jr. ; illustrated by Edel Rodriguez

This creative, impassioned, in-your-face biography is as on fire as Jimi Hendrix’s guitar. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    CLASSIFIED

    MARCH 2, 2021

CHILDREN'S

CLASSIFIED

by Traci Sorell ; illustrated by Natasha Donovan

Liftoff. A biography that lands beyond the stars! Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    NINA

    SEPT. 28, 2021

CHILDREN'S

NINA

by Traci N. Todd ; illustrated by Christian Robinson

Do not miss this complex story of an American legend. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    JUMP AT THE SUN

    JAN. 12, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    FROM THE TOPS OF THE TREES

    OCT. 5, 2021

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We talk to actor Brian Cox about his new memoir, Putting the Rabbit in the Hat, which describes how he found solace in acting after a difficult childhood. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!