An accessible, unfailingly interesting look inside the workings of the human brain, celebrating its beguiling nature.

BEING YOU

A NEW SCIENCE OF CONSCIOUSNESS

A neurobiological account of consciousness.

“Whether you’re a scientist or not, consciousness is a mystery that matters.” So writes Seth, a neuroscientist at the University of Sussex. “For each of us, our conscious experience is all there is.” Some current theories make the mystery all the more mysterious: the notion, for example, that consciousness is a shared hallucination, a thought that would send a Cartesian into fits. What matters, by Seth’s account, is that consciousness arises in the “wetware” of our brains, which “are not computers made of meat” but are instead assemblages of electrical and chemical networks that, crucially, are embodied—i.e., contained within a living being. “In my view,” writes the author, “consciousness has more to do with being alive than with being intelligent.” That said, he depicts the brain as a marvelous thing that we only dimly understand but that has provoked tremendous scientific growth in recent years. In one moving episode, Seth scrubs in for an eight-hour neurological operation that, by exposing the brain to surgical intervention, revealed “the mechanics of a human self.” Exploring the nature and content of consciousness, the author finds it intricately linked with self-consciousness. He also emphasizes its biological nature, suggesting that biotechnology, more than the “fleshless calculus” of artificial intelligence, will bring us further advances into what he calls “synthetic consciousness,” teaching machines to think in more human terms. As for human consciousness proper, it works by means of perception. We perceive the passage of time, and it passes; we perceive the world, and it exists. These are testable notions, he asserts, that help place us in the world and in time, allowing us to accept the inevitable, when “the controlled hallucination of being you finally breaks down into nothingness.” It may not be the most comforting thought, but there are worse.

An accessible, unfailingly interesting look inside the workings of the human brain, celebrating its beguiling nature.

Pub Date: Oct. 12, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-5247-4287-4

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Dutton

Review Posted Online: July 14, 2021

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

THE 48 LAWS OF POWER

The authors have created a sort of anti-Book of Virtues in this encyclopedic compendium of the ways and means of power.

Everyone wants power and everyone is in a constant duplicitous game to gain more power at the expense of others, according to Greene, a screenwriter and former editor at Esquire (Elffers, a book packager, designed the volume, with its attractive marginalia). We live today as courtiers once did in royal courts: we must appear civil while attempting to crush all those around us. This power game can be played well or poorly, and in these 48 laws culled from the history and wisdom of the world’s greatest power players are the rules that must be followed to win. These laws boil down to being as ruthless, selfish, manipulative, and deceitful as possible. Each law, however, gets its own chapter: “Conceal Your Intentions,” “Always Say Less Than Necessary,” “Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy,” and so on. Each chapter is conveniently broken down into sections on what happened to those who transgressed or observed the particular law, the key elements in this law, and ways to defensively reverse this law when it’s used against you. Quotations in the margins amplify the lesson being taught. While compelling in the way an auto accident might be, the book is simply nonsense. Rules often contradict each other. We are told, for instance, to “be conspicuous at all cost,” then told to “behave like others.” More seriously, Greene never really defines “power,” and he merely asserts, rather than offers evidence for, the Hobbesian world of all against all in which he insists we live. The world may be like this at times, but often it isn’t. To ask why this is so would be a far more useful project.

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 1998

ISBN: 0-670-88146-5

Page Count: 430

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 1998

Did you like this book?

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

more