A positive and useful collection of spiritual tips from a medium.

FORGIVE, FORGET, AND RELEASE!

A compendium of bite-sized inspirations features ways to release negativity and return to a path of love and tranquility.

Debut author and medium Daniel compiles a series of soulful, stirring thoughts in this guide to connected and compassionate living. Written in short, paragraph-long entries, the book is easy to digest and can be opened at any point on any page to discover a beneficial thought or idea. Each one is attributed to “TttA”—“The truth through Anna.” The work is designed to allow upbeat spirits to reach readers through the author’s conscious channeling. Topics range from aging wisely and renewing one’s energy to sharing love, employing discipline, and cherishing life. Yet some of the paragraphs contain warnings about the distractions of society. In one passage, TttA cautions, “Manipulation and mind control is appearing everywhere, so beware. Stay alert and let the forces of nature aid you.” She continues: “Many working for the light have been attacked and disturbed. Guide and support each other until the dawn breaks. Most conditions at present are temporary. So wait until clearing is given.” These sections read less as horoscopes assigned to a particular day and more as tidbits of wisdom designed to keep the audience focused on accepting the world. A reader might choose to peruse one part each morning to set an agenda for the day, or to embrace the book as a reminder to get back on track when pessimism or fear creeps in. It could even be used as an entry point to mediation or prayer. A common theme is to allow love and compassion to dominate over worry and anxiety—a highly relevant and universal piece of advice for readers dealing with contemporary societal pressures and conflicts. Overall, the volume provides constructive suggestions that could apply universally to an individual during any moment of life: reminders to love, suggestions to relax, and encouragements to enjoy life.

A positive and useful collection of spiritual tips from a medium.

Pub Date: July 7, 2017

ISBN: 978-1-5043-0841-0

Page Count: 234

Publisher: BalboaPressAU

Review Posted Online: Oct. 2, 2017

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

  • Rolling Stone & Kirkus' Best Music Books of 2020

OPEN BOOK

The debut memoir from the pop and fashion star.

Early on, Simpson describes the book she didn’t write: “a motivational manual telling you how to live your best life.” Though having committed to the lucrative deal years before, she “walked away,” fearing any sort of self-help advice she might give would be hypocritical. Outwardly, Simpson was at the peak of her success, with her fashion line generating “one billion dollars in annual sales.” However, anxiety was getting the better of her, and she admits she’d become a “feelings addict,” just needing “enough noise to distract me from the pain I’d been avoiding since childhood. The demons of traumatic abuse that refused to let me sleep at night—Tylenol PM at age twelve, red wine and Ambien as a grown, scared woman. Those same demons who perched on my shoulder, and when they saw a man as dark as them, leaned in to my ear to whisper, ‘Just give him your light. See if it saves him…’ ” On Halloween 2017, Simpson hit rock bottom, and, with the intervention of her devoted friends and husband, began to address her addictions and underlying fears. In this readable but overlong narrative, the author traces her childhood as a Baptist preacher’s daughter moving 18 times before she “hit fifth grade,” and follows her remarkable rise to fame as a singer. She reveals the psychological trauma resulting from years of sexual abuse by a family friend, experiences that drew her repeatedly into bad relationships with men, most publicly with ex-husband Nick Lachey. Admitting that she was attracted to the validating power of an audience, Simpson analyzes how her failings and triumphs have enabled her to take control of her life, even as she was hounded by the press and various music and movie executives about her weight. Simpson’s memoir contains plenty of personal and professional moments for fans to savor. One of Kirkus and Rolling Stone’s Best Music Books of 2020.

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-289996-5

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Dey Street/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2020

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more