Bury the excessive exclamation points and focus on the visual details to salvage this dig.

BIZZY BEAR, LET'S GET TO WORK!

Bizzy Bear knows how to get the job done.

He assists his fellow animal construction workers in building a house from the ground up. All donning hard hats and protective boots, the team quickly turns beams and boards into a home. Bright, digital spreads, predominately in a warm, sandy palette, keep the focus on the building site. Sturdy sliders placed within well-engineered die-cuts allow children to manipulate the machinery, though the tabs' minute sizes and varied placements make the interactive items a little tough for young toddlers. Bizzy bulldozes sand, transports gravel and lifts bricks. A rhyming, chipper voice narrates each scene with a surfeit of exclamation points. In the final scene, pulling the tab up opens the blinds to reveal Bizzy's friends working on the cottage's interior; a pig and rabbit wave from the top of the chimney. A bustling companion, Bizzy Bear, Off We Go!, briefly introduces familiar modes of transportation through a similar design.

Bury the excessive exclamation points and focus on the visual details to salvage this dig. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)

Pub Date: Feb. 14, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-7636-5899-1

Page Count: 8

Publisher: Nosy Crow/Candlewick

Review Posted Online: May 30, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An unabashed love letter from mother.

I LOVE YOU, LITTLE POOKIE

From the Little Pookie series

A sweet celebration of the bond between a mother and her Pookie.

The eighth installment in this always charming series eschews the episodic drama and silliness of earlier outing such as Spooky Pookie (2015) in favor of a mom’s-eye-view celebration of her child and the time they spend together. There is, of course, nothing wrong with drama and silliness. But while the lack of conflict and plot in favor of unapologetic sentiment makes this book a quick read, that doesn’t make it any less endearing. The rhymed verse captures a mother’s wonder as she observes the many facets of her child’s personality: “Ah, Pookie. My little one. My funny one. My child. // Sometimes you are quiet. Sometimes you are wild.” On the simple joys of shared moments, she notes, “I love to go walking with you by my side. / I love when we sing when we go for a ride. // And I love just to watch as you think and you play. / The way that you are is a wonderful way.” Paired with author/illustrator Boynton’s irresistible renderings of a porcine mommy and her playful, snuggly little piglet, the result is impossible to fault. Whether quietly reading, running in a tiger suit, singing with mom in the car, ears flapping in the breeze, or enjoying the safety of mom’s embrace, Pookie’s appeal continues unabated.

An unabashed love letter from mother. (Board book. 1-4)

Pub Date: Dec. 4, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5344-3723-4

Page Count: 18

Publisher: Little Simon/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Dec. 5, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

The greeting-card art and jokey rhymes work for the baby-shower market but not for the youngest readers.

I LOVE YOU LIKE NO OTTER

Animal parents declare their love for their offspring through rhymed puns and sentimental art.

The title sets the scene for what’s to come: The owl asks the owlet as they fly together, “WHOO loves you?”; the kangaroo and joey make each other “very HOPPY”; and the lioness and cub are a “PURRRFECT pair.” Most of the puns are both unimaginative and groanworthy, and they are likely to go over the heads of toddlers, who are not know for their wordplay abilities. The text is set in abcb quatrains split over two double-page spreads. On each spread, one couplet appears on the verso within a lightly decorated border on pastel pages. On the recto, a full-bleed portrait of the animal and baby appears in softly colored and cozy images. Hearts are prominent on every page, floating between the parent and baby as if it is necessary to show the love between each pair. Although these critters are depicted in mistily conceived natural habitats and are unclothed, they are human stand-ins through and through.

The greeting-card art and jokey rhymes work for the baby-shower market but not for the youngest readers. (Board book. 6 mos-2)

Pub Date: Jan. 7, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-7282-1374-3

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Sourcebooks Wonderland

Review Posted Online: June 30, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more