The spunky heroine is a captivating one, as is her deliciously sensational adventure.

READ REVIEW

SHADOWS OF THE SILVER SCREEN

From the Penelope Tredwell series , Vol. 2

In this sequel to Twelve Minutes to Midnight (2014), young author/publisher Penelope Tredwell becomes ensnared in a devious scheme to turn one of her thrillers into a motion picture.

Orphan heiress of the Penny Dreadful, 13-year-old Penelope has successfully transformed the magazine into a “bestselling sensation” with her serialized “tales of terror.” When sleazy moviemaker Edward Gold approaches her hoping to make a film of her The Daughter of Darkness, Penelope’s wary until she falls under the spell of Gold’s Véritéscope, a new sort of movie camera that can both record and project sound as well as images. En route to filming at remote Eversholt Manor, Penelope discovers Gold’s really using her story to expose the true story of dastardly Lord Eversholt, who caused the death of his daughter, Amelia, years ago. When Penelope begins seeing Amelia’s ghost, she realizes the Véritéscope can capture the ethereal forms of the deceased and restore them to life. With her own life fading and Amelia’s returning, Penelope must stop Gold. Once again, Edge’s deft use of Gothic elements ensures maximum chills and suspense as Penelope and pals race to outwit Gold and his contraption in a dramatic conclusion.

The spunky heroine is a captivating one, as is her deliciously sensational adventure. (Historical mystery. 8-12)

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-8075-7319-8

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Whitman

Review Posted Online: July 15, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A deftly told story that dramatizes how Danes appointed themselves bodyguards—not only for their king, who was in the habit...

NUMBER THE STARS

The author of the Anastasia books as well as more serious fiction (Rabble Starkey, 1987) offers her first historical fiction—a story about the escape of the Jews from Denmark in 1943.

Five years younger than Lisa in Carol Matas' Lisa's War (1989), Annemarie Johansen has, at 10, known three years of Nazi occupation. Though ever cautious and fearful of the ubiquitous soldiers, she is largely unaware of the extent of the danger around her; the Resistance kept even its participants safer by telling them as little as possible, and Annemarie has never been told that her older sister Lise died in its service. When the Germans plan to round up the Jews, the Johansens take in Annemarie's friend, Ellen Rosen, and pretend she is their daughter; later, they travel to Uncle Hendrik's house on the coast, where the Rosens and other Jews are transported by fishing boat to Sweden. Apart from Lise's offstage death, there is little violence here; like Annemarie, the reader is protected from the full implications of events—but will be caught up in the suspense and menace of several encounters with soldiers and in Annemarie's courageous run as courier on the night of the escape. The book concludes with the Jews' return, after the war, to homes well kept for them by their neighbors.

A deftly told story that dramatizes how Danes appointed themselves bodyguards—not only for their king, who was in the habit of riding alone in Copenhagen, but for their Jews. (Historical fiction. 9-12)

Pub Date: April 1, 1989

ISBN: 0547577095

Page Count: 156

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Review Posted Online: Oct. 17, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 1989

Did you like this book?

A lighthearted mystery starring seriously smart kids.

THE AMBROSE DECEPTION

A mysterious scholarship contest launches this middle-grade mystery.

The action begins when three Chicago middle schoolers—Bondi Johnson, a black boy; Wilf Samson, a white boy; and Melissa Burris, a white girl—are selected to compete in the Kaplin/Baron scholarship contest. No one at the three students’ schools has heard of this scholarship, and even stranger, none of these students is known for exemplary academics. In fact, they are better known for scheming, daydreaming, and schmoozing. The scholarship rules appear straightforward: untangle the clues, provide a photo of each, and win $10,000. With these guidelines, a provided cellphone, a personal driver, and a no-strings-attached debit card, each student is ready to tackle the task. Bondi attacks his clues with diligence; Melissa, though suspicious, enjoys the chase; Wilf would rather cross items off his bucket list than solve the riddles. When the hunt for clues draws to an end, Bondi, Melissa, and Wilf discover there is another mystery surrounding this scholarship and the money, leading them to band together to unravel the remaining clues and unearth the truth before the $10,000 slips out of their hands. In the tradition of The Westing Game or Chasing Vermeer, this is a plot-driven brainteaser centered on Chicago landmarks and Chicago history. The twists and turns are well-paced and believable, and transcripts of texts, emails, and letters within the chapters add dimension to the strong cast of secondary characters.

A lighthearted mystery starring seriously smart kids. (Mystery. 8-12)

Pub Date: Feb. 13, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-4847-8838-7

Page Count: 368

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Review Posted Online: Nov. 13, 2017

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2017

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more