DEATH OF A PROMINENT CITIZEN

A classic golden-age mystery whose shocking solution will appeal to fans of Christie and Sayers.

A nun uses her sleuthing skills to solve the murder of her cousin in the 1920s.

Ireland may be free from English rule, but there’s unrest among the poor, who live in shocking conditions. At a slum clearance meeting, the Reverend Mother’s cousin Charlotte Hendrick, a slumlord, is represented by her companion/housekeeper Julie Clancy, another cousin,  who begs the Reverend Mother for help influencing Charlotte, who has announced plans to change her will. Instead of dividing her wealth equally among seven close relatives, including the Reverend Mother and Charlotte, she now proposes that whichever of them makes the best case for their use of the money will get the lot. The bishop insists that the Reverend Mother attend a meeting at Charlotte’s mansion to make a pitch even though she thinks Charlotte’s already made up her mind. On that same night, the Reverend Mother’s former pupil Eileen MacSweeney gets roped into minding the megaphone at a college demonstration that ends in a riot and the murder of a landlord not far from Charlotte’s house. When Charlotte’s throat is cut in a locked room the morning after the cousins make their pitches, the Reverend Mother calls in her old friend Inspector Patrick Cashman. Charlotte’s open window suggests the possibility that she was the victim of an outside killer. But except for the Reverend Mother and the wealthy cousin who shared her room, the others are all suspects, especially poor Julie, who might have been left penniless by the new will. Patrick follows the evidence, but the Reverend Mother has her own opinion.

A classic golden-age mystery whose shocking solution will appeal to fans of Christie and Sayers.

Pub Date: July 7, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-7278-8924-9

Page Count: 224

Publisher: Severn House

Review Posted Online: April 12, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2020

A CONSPIRACY OF BONES

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Another sweltering month in Charlotte, another boatload of mysteries past and present for overworked, overstressed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan.

A week after the night she chases but fails to catch a mysterious trespasser outside her town house, some unknown party texts Tempe four images of a corpse that looks as if it’s been chewed by wild hogs, because it has been. Showboat Medical Examiner Margot Heavner makes it clear that, breaking with her department’s earlier practice (The Bone Collection, 2016, etc.), she has no intention of calling in Tempe as a consultant and promptly identifies the faceless body herself as that of a young Asian man. Nettled by several errors in Heavner’s analysis, and even more by her willingness to share the gory details at a press conference, Tempe launches her own investigation, which is not so much off the books as against the books. Heavner isn’t exactly mollified when Tempe, aided by retired police detective Skinny Slidell and a host of experts, puts a name to the dead man. But the hints of other crimes Tempe’s identification uncovers, particularly crimes against children, spur her on to redouble her efforts despite the new M.E.’s splenetic outbursts. Before he died, it seems, Felix Vodyanov was linked to a passenger ferry that sank in 1994, an even earlier U.S. government project to research biological agents that could control human behavior, the hinky spiritual retreat Sparkling Waters, the dark web site DeepUnder, and the disappearances of at least four schoolchildren, two of whom have also turned up dead. And why on earth was Vodyanov carrying Tempe’s own contact information? The mounting evidence of ever more and ever worse skulduggery will pull Tempe deeper and deeper down what even she sees as a rabbit hole before she confronts a ringleader implicated in “Drugs. Fraud. Breaking and entering. Arson. Kidnapping. How does attempted murder sound?”

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Pub Date: March 17, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9821-3888-2

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Scribner

Review Posted Online: Dec. 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE

This book and its author are cleverer than you and want you to know it.

In this mystery, the narrator constantly adds commentary on how the story is constructed.

In 1929, during the golden age of mysteries, a (real-life) writer named Ronald Knox published the “10 Commandments of Detective Fiction,” 10 rules that mystery writers should obey in order to “play fair.” When faced with his own mystery story, our narrator, an author named Ernest Cunningham who "write[s] books about how to write books," feels like he must follow these rules himself. The story seemingly begins on the night his brother Michael calls to ask him to help bury a body—and shows up with the body and a bag containing $267,000. Fast-forward three years, and Ernie’s family has gathered at a ski resort to celebrate Michael’s release from prison. The family dynamics are, to put it lightly, complicated—and that’s before a man shows up dead in the snow and Michael arrives with a coffin in a truck. When the local cop arrests Michael for the murder, things get even more complicated: There are more deaths; Michael tells a story about a coverup involving their father, who was part of a gang called the Sabers; and Ernie still has (most of) the money and isn’t sure whom to trust or what to do with it. Eventually, Ernie puts all the pieces together and gathers the (remaining) family members and various extras for the great denouement. As the plot develops, it becomes clear that there’s a pretty interesting mystery at the heart of this novel, but Stevenson’s postmodern style has Ernie constantly breaking the fourth wall to explain how the structure of his story meets the criteria for a successful detective story. Some readers are drawn to mysteries because they love the formula and logic—this one’s for them. If you like the slow, sometimes-creepy, sometimes-comforting unspooling of a good mystery, it might not be your cup of tea—though the ending, to be fair, is still something of a surprise.

This book and its author are cleverer than you and want you to know it.

Pub Date: Jan. 17, 2023

ISBN: 978-0-06-327902-5

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Mariner Books

Review Posted Online: Oct. 25, 2022

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 15, 2022

Close Quickview