RISE OF THE WOLF by Curtis Jobling


From the "Wereworld" series, volume 1


When a monster breaks into his house and kills his mother, and his father accuses him of the murder, 16-year-old Drew Ferran must leave home and find his own way in the world.

Drew lives in the wilds, and it turns out that not only does he not know where home is any longer, he doesn’t really know who he is, though he has long suspected there’s more to him than he had imagined. For Drew is a therianthrope, a lycanthrope, the last of the Werewolves, and in his land of Lyssia, there are many kinds of Werelords heading noble households—the Werestag, the Wereboar, the Werebadger, even the Wererat. But it’s a kingdom ruled by King Leopold the Lion, who is ever eager to kill Drew and end the line of wolves. Jobling’s debut initiates a sure-to-be-long series of Wereworld tales, pure fantasy adventure with plenty of horror in the mix. Though the writing is sloppy, with no shortage of wordy and awkward sentences, readers will no doubt be zipping along too quickly to notice. Familiar themes of home, identity, destiny, friendship, loyalty and taming the beast within will satisfy lovers of fantasy.

Pitched to an audience younger than Twilight’s, this will find broad appeal among lovers of adventure fantasy, especially those mourning the end of John Flanagan's Ranger’s Apprentice. (Fantasy. 10 & up)


Pub Date: Sept. 20th, 2011
ISBN: 978-0-670-01330-2
Page count: 464pp
Publisher: Viking
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1st, 2011


ChildrenRAGE OF LIONS by Curtis Jobling
by Curtis Jobling
ChildrenDINOSAURS AFTER DARK by Jonathan Emmett
by Jonathan Emmett


ChildrenTHE LAST ENCHANTER by Laurisa White Reyes
by Laurisa White Reyes
ChildrenTHE DRAGON KING by Nils Johnson-Shelton
by Nils Johnson-Shelton
ChildrenTHE BURNING BRIDGE by John Flanagan
by John Flanagan
ChildrenTHE LIGHTNING THIEF by Rick Riordan
by Rick Riordan