MISS DAISY IS CRAZY! by Dan Gutman

MISS DAISY IS CRAZY!

by , illustrated by
Age Range: 6 - 10

KIRKUS REVIEW

What’s up with Miss Daisy? She can’t spell, doesn’t understand math, and cannot read or write. If it were up to her, the second-graders in her charge would have recess all day. A.J. doesn’t like school—he thinks it’s a “dumb thing that grown-ups thought up so they wouldn’t have to pay for baby-sitters.” In the tradition of Sachar, Pilkey, Pinkerton, and Scieszka, Gutman makes a splash with his new series for the just-ready-for-chapter-books readers. When Miss Daisy can’t understand multiplication, her helpful class explains it. When she can’t spell a word, her students teach her. Cartoon illustrations, ample white space, and a generous font make this inviting for the newest readers. And once they accept the invitation, they will read and share the silly situations with each other. Best of all, the second in the series (Mr. Klutz Is Nuts) has a simultaneous publication, so their enthusiasm will instantly be rewarded. A sure-fire hit for the most reluctant reader. (Fiction. 6-10)

Pub Date: July 1st, 2004
ISBN: 0-06-050700-4
Page count: 96pp
Publisher: HarperCollins
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15th, 2004




MORE BY DAN GUTMAN

ChildrenMY WEIRD WRITING TIPS by Dan Gutman
by Dan Gutman
ChildrenYOU ONLY DIE TWICE by Dan Gutman
by Dan Gutman
ChildrenNEVER SAY GENIUS by Dan Gutman
by Dan Gutman

MORE BY JIM PAILLOT

ChildrenMY WEIRD WRITING TIPS by Dan Gutman
by Dan Gutman

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenCLUELESS MCGEE by Jeff Mack
by Jeff Mack
ChildrenFRIGHTFULLY FRIENDLY GHOSTIES by Daren King
by Daren King