A welcome jolt of optimism.

FLASH FORESIGHT

HOW TO SEE THE INVISIBLE AND DO THE IMPOSSIBLE: SEVEN RADICAL PRINCIPLES THAT WILL TRANSFORM YOUR BUSINESS

Burrus (Technotrends: How to Use Technology to Go Beyond Your Competition, 1993) anticipates a technology-driven recovery for the U.S. economy that will overshadow the transformations of the past 25 years.

The author makes the counterintuitive argument that, with the proper perspective and a “willingness to get down on your hands and knees and look at things from a fresh point of view,” the current recession can become a time of opportunity. By relying on intuition coupled with informed judgment—“flash foresight”—Burrus contends that even in hard times it is possible to “open up invisible opportunities and solve seemingly impossible problems before they happen.” Drawing on the lessons culled from a 30-year career as a consultant to Fortune 500 companies—Microsoft, Toshiba, GE, etc.—the author has developed a seven-step method to guide corporate management in competitively positioning their firms. The first step involves establishing “hard trends”—e.g., the aging of the U.S. population. Based on this certainty, it is possible to “anticipate” the direction of future technology based on the development of diagnostics that can monitor the health of seniors with chronic conditions while allowing them to maintain independence. This is the point at which it is necessary to unleash individual creativity and foster a team effort in order to “transform” technological advances. The remaining four steps—“Take your biggest problem and skip it” temporarily; “Go opposite,” i.e., strike out in a new direction; “redefine and reinvent”; and “Direct your future”—are more broadly applicable to individual as well as corporate situations such as job loss, retirement or the development of a new career. In addition to legendary success stories such as Amazon.com, Burrus also artfully weaves in his own experiences, including his most recent start-up venture, a smartphone application that will enable potential homebuyers to access information about foreclosures.

A welcome jolt of optimism.

Pub Date: Jan. 18, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-06-192229-9

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Harper Business

Review Posted Online: Oct. 25, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 15, 2010

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A declaration worth hearing out in a time of growing inequality—and indignity.

ECONOMIC DIGNITY

Noted number cruncher Sperling delivers an economist’s rejoinder to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

Former director of the National Economic Council in the administrations of Presidents Bill Clinton and Barack Obama, the author has long taken a view of the dismal science that takes economic justice fully into account. Alongside all the metrics and estimates and reckonings of GDP, inflation, and the supply curve, he holds the great goal of economic policy to be the advancement of human dignity, a concept intangible enough to chase the econometricians away. Growth, the sacred mantra of most economic policy, “should never be considered an appropriate ultimate end goal” for it, he counsels. Though 4% is the magic number for annual growth to be considered healthy, it is healthy only if everyone is getting the benefits and not just the ultrawealthy who are making away with the spoils today. Defining dignity, admits Sperling, can be a kind of “I know it when I see it” problem, but it does not exist where people are a paycheck away from homelessness; the fact, however, that people widely share a view of indignity suggests the “intuitive universality” of its opposite. That said, the author identifies three qualifications, one of them the “ability to meaningfully participate in the economy with respect, not domination and humiliation.” Though these latter terms are also essentially unquantifiable, Sperling holds that this respect—lack of abuse, in another phrasing—can be obtained through a tight labor market and monetary and fiscal policy that pushes for full employment. In other words, where management needs to come looking for workers, workers are likely to be better treated than when the opposite holds. In still other words, writes the author, dignity is in part a function of “ ‘take this job and shove it’ power,” which is a power worth fighting for.

A declaration worth hearing out in a time of growing inequality—and indignity.

Pub Date: May 5, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-7987-5

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Penguin Press

Review Posted Online: Feb. 26, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more