Next book

SLAM DUNK JOB SEARCH

6 STEPS TO LANDING YOUR IDEAL JOB IN ANY MARKET

An energetic, helpful, and thought-provoking coaching manual for improving job-applying skills.

A guide offers a methodical strategy for improving success in applying for jobs.

“Before you start to compete for your ideal job, you should know where you stand relative to the marketplace,” writes Parker in this extended game plan for understanding and improving the process of job seeking. “You should know what you want to offer, but you also must know how well you match up with what the market demands.” The author goes on to explore how readers can assess and improve their own marketability. He takes this same 360-degree view of the other elements of the job search process, seeking to instill in his readers the “limitless mindset” that will be the key to getting the positions of their dreams. Parker steers readers through every aspect of the process, from the nitty-gritty of how to arrange items on the printed pages of their resumes to the crucial elements to study in the companies they’re hoping to join. He understandably devotes a good deal of space to what’s typically seen as the most important aspect of the job search: the interview. When discussing interviews, for instance, he has a good deal of advice for readers, all based on remembering that they’re selling themselves and their credentials the whole time. The potential employer, he stresses, is quite literally your customer—and he warns of potential bad signs an applicant could be giving off: not being very accommodating when scheduling an interview, asking irrelevant questions (or questions that your own research could easily have answered), and talking too much and thus displaying an unwillingness to listen. He fleshes out all of his points with anecdotal examples designed to make them more identifiable.

Parker’s greatest strength is the sharp, forceful tone he employs throughout. Job seekers are bombarded on all sides by advice on how to improve their resumes, increase their charisma in interviews, and enhance their skill at reading the personalities of their possible future employers. The last thing such readers need is a wishy-washy approach, and the author avoids the equivocal completely. He provides his readers with graphics, bullet points, pull quotes, and the like, all geared, as his prose is, to convey the maximum amount of useful information in the clearest possible way. The author sympathizes with job seekers, presenting them the fruits of his research and experience on such points as reaching out and making personal contact with potential employers when possible (“Don’t merely rely on your credentials to land you a job”). But he’s also firm with readers, warning them against some of their own possible shortcomings, things job seekers tend to do without thinking about the images they project. “Inconsistency will put doubts in the hiring manager’s mind,” he writes. “It can be the one piece of information the employer uses to decide between top candidates, especially when employers are hypersensitive to anything that will allow them to make a quick decision with limited information.” At every turn, he’s trying to arm his readers with ways to avoid giving hiring managers “easy ways out.”

An energetic, helpful, and thought-provoking coaching manual for improving job-applying skills.

Pub Date: Feb. 22, 2024

ISBN: 979-8-9865451-0-3

Page Count: 374

Publisher: Beyond Competitive LLC

Review Posted Online: Sept. 23, 2022

Next book

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 3, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 26


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller


  • IndieBound Bestseller

Next book

GREENLIGHTS

A conversational, pleasurable look into McConaughey’s life and thought.

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 26


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller


  • IndieBound Bestseller

All right, all right, all right: The affable, laconic actor delivers a combination of memoir and self-help book.

“This is an approach book,” writes McConaughey, adding that it contains “philosophies that can be objectively understood, and if you choose, subjectively adopted, by either changing your reality, or changing how you see it. This is a playbook, based on adventures in my life.” Some of those philosophies come in the form of apothegms: “When you can design your own weather, blow in the breeze”; “Simplify, focus, conserve to liberate.” Others come in the form of sometimes rambling stories that never take the shortest route from point A to point B, as when he recounts a dream-spurred, challenging visit to the Malian musician Ali Farka Touré, who offered a significant lesson in how disagreement can be expressed politely and without rancor. Fans of McConaughey will enjoy his memories—which line up squarely with other accounts in Melissa Maerz’s recent oral history, Alright, Alright, Alright—of his debut in Richard Linklater’s Dazed and Confused, to which he contributed not just that signature phrase, but also a kind of too-cool-for-school hipness that dissolves a bit upon realizing that he’s an older guy on the prowl for teenage girls. McConaughey’s prep to settle into the role of Wooderson involved inhabiting the mind of a dude who digs cars, rock ’n’ roll, and “chicks,” and he ran with it, reminding readers that the film originally had only three scripted scenes for his character. The lesson: “Do one thing well, then another. Once, then once more.” It’s clear that the author is a thoughtful man, even an intellectual of sorts, though without the earnestness of Ethan Hawke or James Franco. Though some of the sentiments are greeting card–ish, this book is entertaining and full of good lessons.

A conversational, pleasurable look into McConaughey’s life and thought.

Pub Date: Oct. 20, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-593-13913-4

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Crown

Review Posted Online: Oct. 27, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2020

Close Quickview