A provocative account of the outsized contributions of these modern-day robber barons.

READ REVIEW

STRATEGY RULES

FIVE TIMELESS LESSONS FROM BILL GATES, ANDY GROVE, AND STEVE JOBS

The co-authors of the bestselling Competing on Internet Time: Lessons from Netscape and Its Battle with Microsoft (1999) attempt to extract timeless principles of strategic leadership from the unique business-building skills of tech titans Bill Gates of Microsoft, Andrew Grove of Intel and Steve Jobs of Apple.

Yoffie (International Business Administration/Harvard Business School) and Cusumano (Management and Engineering/MIT) revisit the careers of the three individuals perhaps most responsible for conceiving and producing the history-making shift to personal computers in the 1980s. “None of the three,” the authors write, “was the type of well-rounded general manager that top business schools…try to produce.” All mostly self-taught, they lacked formal business training and learned leadership and organizing skills on the job. They were strategic thinkers who put countless time and effort into the thought and research necessary to maintain their companies' rapid developments. Throughout their careers, they competed against each other—especially Gates and Jobs—as fiercely as they did their other business rivals. Yoffie and Cusumano distill from their combined histories five principles, and they address, and further differentiate, each in its own chapter. These include “Look Forward, Reason Back,” “Making Big Bets, Without Betting the Company,” “Building Platforms and Ecosystems—Not Just Products,” “Exploit Leverage and Power—Play Judo and Sumo,” and “Shape the Organization Around Your Personal Anchor.” While delineating these principles, the authors don’t overlook the sometimes-underhanded, borderline illegal processes of the respective companies. Microsoft's ruthless pursuit of monopoly power left a trail of vanquished competitors, and Intel achieved its monopoly through manufacturing prowess and extreme defensiveness. The circumstances each company addressed were specific enough, as was the learning process required for mastery, to perhaps undermine the authors' claims for the timelessness of their five principles, but the lessons should be useful for managers and entrepreneurs.

A provocative account of the outsized contributions of these modern-day robber barons.

Pub Date: April 14, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-06-237395-3

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Harper Business

Review Posted Online: Jan. 22, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

REIMAGINING CAPITALISM IN A WORLD ON FIRE

A well-constructed critique of an economic system that, by the author’s account, is a driver of the world’s destruction.

Harvard Business School professor Henderson vigorously questions the bromide that “management’s only duty is to maximize shareholder value,” a notion advanced by Milton Friedman and accepted uncritically in business schools ever since. By that logic, writes the author, there is no reason why corporations should not fish out the oceans, raise drug prices, militate against public education (since it costs tax money), and otherwise behave ruinously and anti-socially. Many do, even though an alternative theory of business organization argues that corporations and society should enjoy a symbiotic relationship of mutual benefit, which includes corporate investment in what economists call public goods. Given that the history of humankind is “the story of our increasing ability to cooperate at larger and larger scales,” one would hope that in the face of environmental degradation and other threats, we might adopt the symbiotic model rather than the winner-take-all one. Problems abound, of course, including that of the “free rider,” the corporation that takes the benefits from collaborative agreements but does none of the work. Henderson examines case studies such as a large food company that emphasized environmentally responsible production and in turn built “purpose-led, sustainable living brands” and otherwise led the way in increasing shareholder value by reducing risk while building demand. The author argues that the “short-termism” that dominates corporate thinking needs to be adjusted to a longer view even though the larger problem might be better characterized as “failure of information.” Henderson closes with a set of prescriptions for bringing a more equitable economics to the personal level, one that, among other things, asks us to step outside routine—eat less meat, drive less—and become active in forcing corporations (and politicians) to be better citizens.

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

Pub Date: May 1, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-5417-3015-1

Page Count: 336

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: Feb. 17, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more