A soundly researched, well-written approach to Alzheimer’s disease and cognitive impairment.

ALZHEIMER'S, MEMORY LOSS, AND MCI

THE LATEST SCIENCE FOR PREVENTION AND TREATMENT

Two authorities in longevity medicine provide a breakthrough approach to treating Alzheimer’s disease.

The philosophy underlying our inefficient and failing health care system is itself flawed. Formulated to deal with acute conditions through the application of “magic bullet” solutions, contemporary medicine fails to understand and effectively treat chronic conditions like Alzheimer’s disease. So argue doctors Leonardi and Daley who offer a thorough six-step approach to the disease that, they say, can prevent or treat both Mild Cognitive Impairment and Alzheimer’s. Leonardi and Daley use simple metaphors to explain the disease; they compare the brain’s overload of amyloid protein (one of the causes of Alzheimer’s) to “a sink with the faucet running and the drain blocked.” The doctors have obviously put much thought into how to talk to patients and caregivers clearly and compassionately. “The purpose of this book,” the authors write, “is to teach you what we teach our patients.” Their discussion of their treatment philosophy is also simple, but their methodology shows an expert’s understanding of this complex condition. Reduction of oxidants, “rustproofing,” improving genetic predisposition through food supplements, protecting and defending the brain, maintaining healthy hormone levels, engaging in “brain aerobics,” meditation and sound sleep: These are some of the topics covered to arm patients and caregivers with a multipronged approach. While many books that deal with Alzheimer’s accept the medical orthodoxy, this revolutionary patient-centered approach gives both patients and caregivers an arsenal of techniques to cope with MCI and Alzheimer’s disease. Written with clarity and precision, this book can provide a positive framework for patients, family and treatment specialists who are open to this thoughtful program.

A soundly researched, well-written approach to Alzheimer’s disease and cognitive impairment.

Pub Date: July 16, 2012

ISBN: 978-1470030476

Page Count: 192

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: Aug. 31, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 15, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A refreshingly candid, fearless look into a model’s body of work and its impact on her identity and politics.

MY BODY

The international model embarks on a nuanced investigation of her body and identity.

Ratajkowski’s exploration of fame, self-identity, and what it means to be a “beautiful” woman is surprisingly engaging. Originally thrust into the spotlight in 2013 due to her scantily clad appearance in the music video for Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines,” the author eventually became known for her stances about beauty and sexuality and how they are commodified. Now that she is a wife and mother, she writes, “I feel a tenderness toward my younger self. My defensiveness and defiance are palpable to me now. What I wrote and preached then reflected what I believed at the time, but it missed a much more complicated picture. In many ways, I have been undeniably rewarded by capitalizing on my sexuality….But in other, less overt ways, I’ve felt objectified and limited by my position in the world as a so-called sex symbol.” This short book includes the juicy tidbits that avid celebrity-memoir readers seek, and the author shares how she really felt about the video shoot and how the aftermath affected her. Beyond that, the book is a reflective coming-of-age-in-the-industry tale, a story that is never maudlin but contains a few thick, murky sections. Ratajkowski attempts to break down the construction of her identity and sexuality in relation to the ever present male gaze as well as her relationships with the women in her life. The charm of this book lies in the author’s largely relatable writing, which shows the complex emotions and confusion of a young woman experiencing her sexual development and maturation into a capable adult. Admitting that the “purpose of the book is not to arrive at answers, but honestly to explore ideas I can’t help but return to,” Ratajkowski grapples directly with a host of thorny issues.

A refreshingly candid, fearless look into a model’s body of work and its impact on her identity and politics.

Pub Date: Nov. 9, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-250-81786-0

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Metropolitan/Henry Holt

Review Posted Online: Sept. 15, 2021

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An oft-ignored but fully convincing argument that “we cannot prevent the next pandemic without creating a healthy world.”

THE CONTAGION NEXT TIME

The Covid-19 pandemic is not a one-off catastrophe. An epidemiologist presents a cogent argument for a fundamental refocusing of resources on “the foundational forces that shape health.”

In this passionate and instructive book, Galea, dean of the Boston University School of Public Health, writes that Covid emerged because we have long neglected basic preventative measures. “We invest vast amounts of money in healthcare,” he writes, “but comparatively little in health.” Readers looking to learn how governments (mainly the U.S.) mishandled the pandemic have a flood of books to choose from, but Galea has bigger issues to raise. Better medical care will not stop the next epidemic, he warns. We must structure a world “that is resilient to contagions.” He begins by describing the current state of world health, where progress has been spectacular. Global life expectancy has more than doubled since 1900. Malnutrition, poverty, and child mortality have dropped. However, as the author stresses repeatedly, medical progress contributed far less to the current situation than better food, clean water, hygiene, education, and prosperity. That’s the good news. More problematic is that money is a powerful determinant of health; those who have it live longer. Galea begins the bad news by pointing out the misleading statistic that Covid-19 kills less than 1% of those infected; that applies to young people in good health. For those over 60, it kills 6%, for diabetics, over 7%, and those with heart disease, over 10%. It also kills more Blacks than Whites, more poor than middle-class people, and more people without health insurance. The author is clearly not just interested in Covid. He attacks racism, sexism, and poverty in equal measure, making a plea for compassion toward stigmatized conditions such as obesity and addiction. He consistently urges the U.S. government, which has spared no expense and effort to defeat the pandemic, to do the same for social injustice.

An oft-ignored but fully convincing argument that “we cannot prevent the next pandemic without creating a healthy world.”

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2021

ISBN: 978-0-19-757642-7

Page Count: 280

Publisher: Oxford Univ.

Review Posted Online: Aug. 28, 2021

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more