SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail

SYLVIE & TRUE

by & illustrated by
Age Range: 4 - 7
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. A blend of picture book and early reader, this offering contains four short chapters in which the two friends have quiet, funny adventures. Readers learn how Sylvie sleeps in a bed while True sleeps in a tub. True pretends to scare a neighbor who knows how calm she really is. When True, “a good eater,” prepares a meal for Sylvie, “a good cook,” it comes to naught, so naturally they go out for pizza. True always wins at bowling because of her ability to slide down the lane while keeping her shoes in place—but it doesn’t matter since both enjoy themselves. As the tub fills, Sylvie reads a story and the two agree they are glad to be friends and drift off to sleep. Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail’s always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)

Pub Date: Nov. 20th, 2007
ISBN: 978-0-374-37364-1
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 15th, 2007




MORE BY DAVID MCPHAIL

ChildrenJUMP by David McPhail
by David McPhail
ChildrenBABY BEAR'S BOOK OF TINY TALES by David McPhail
by David McPhail
ChildrenHOOKED by Tommy Greenwald
by Tommy Greenwald