THE NIGHT DOOR by Frank Cammuso

THE NIGHT DOOR

From the "Edison Beaker, Creature Seeker" series, volume 1
by ; illustrated by
Age Range: 6 - 10
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

The search for a missing hamster leads two siblings into a monstrous underworld.

Edison Beaker and his little sister, Tesla, last saw their beloved father four years ago. After his mysterious disappearance, Edison, always afraid of the dark, has kept close the trusty flashlight his dad had left him. One night, when tagging along with their uncle, a “creature seeker” masquerading as an exterminator, the Beaker siblings learn firsthand what types of pests he hunts when Tesla’s hamster, Scuttlbutt, rolls his ball through an unusual portal known as the Night Door. Once over its threshold, Edison and Tesla find themselves in the monster-filled Underwhere (expect the obvious jokes) and promptly pair with an androgynous, purple-skinned creature named Knox in order to find the missing Keystone needed to seal the Night Door and keep the nefarious Darkness and its monsters at bay. This first graphic novel in a proposed series will not disappoint, and its cheery illustrations, fast pace, and easy humor will appeal to fans of Judd Winick’s Hilo series or Ben Hatke’s work. The tale feels comfortably familiar in its worldbuilding and its accessible theme of light versus dark, but fresh details keep it from feeling formulaic. Character diversity is all but nonexistent, as the Beakers are all the white default. While this volume has a satisfactorily tidy resolution, enough threads are left dangling to foster interest in subsequent adventures.

A series opener with straightforward appeal. (Graphic fantasy. 6-10)

Pub Date: Oct. 2nd, 2018
ISBN: 978-0-425-29192-4
Page count: 160pp
Publisher: Viking
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 1st, 2018




MORE BY FRANK CAMMUSO

ChildrenBIG BIRTHDAY BASH by Frank Cammuso
by Frank Cammuso
ChildrenSPELLING TROUBLE by Frank Cammuso
by Frank Cammuso
ChildrenOTTO'S BACKWARDS DAY by Frank Cammuso
by Frank Cammuso

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenNIGHTMARE ESCAPE by Greg Grunberg
by Greg Grunberg
ChildrenMIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
by Ben Hatke
ChildrenTHE TROLLS WILL FEAST! by Chris Schweizer
by Chris Schweizer