This extravagant metafiction about obsession, life, love, and lists mixes sincerity with an endearing, genre-bending...

READ REVIEW

A LIFE WITHOUT END

A man decides he will never die.

French journalist, critic, and TV presenter Beigbeder (Manhattan’s Babe, 2016, etc.) describes this book as both “science nonfiction" and "a novel.” This apparent contradiction foreshadows the book’s challenging, cheeky, and sometimes confusing delivery. The narrator—let's call him Beigbeder—confidently declares that he is the “first man who will be immortal. This is my story.” Accompanied by his 10-year-old daughter, Romy (he and his wife, Caroline, are separated), he sets off on a road trip, a “world tour searching for immortality.” Written in a breezy style, bristling with wit, sarcasm, heavy doses of gallows humor, and many lists (for example, on the pros and cons of death), Beigbeder's book provides extensive, detailed information about the science of aging. The scientists he interviews are actual doctors, but determining what is real/not real at any given moment gets tricky. First up is a visit to Geneva’s Institute of Genetics and Genomics, where Beigbeder learns about genome sequencing. Romy introduces Dad to Léonore, a highly attractive doctor. Immediately, he “wanted to see her belly swell with my fecund seed.” They have sex in Beigbeder’s hotel room while Romy sleeps. Is this an effort by a middle-aged man to postpone death? The tour continues with a visit to a Frankenstein exhibition (Faust, anyone?), and, soon after, he marries Léonore and—pop!—there’s a new daughter, Lou. Anxious to learn more from world-famous scientists about preventing his death, Beigbeder visits hospitals, research centers, and clinics in Israel, Austria, Boston, San Diego, and Monterey. He tries new diets, has blood transfusion laser therapy, and gets his DNA sequenced and stem cells frozen. Along the way the family is joined by a “plastic Michelin man,” Pepper, a Japanese robot Beigbeder bought as a companion for Romy.

This extravagant metafiction about obsession, life, love, and lists mixes sincerity with an endearing, genre-bending wackiness.

Pub Date: April 14, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-64286-067-2

Page Count: 304

Publisher: World Editions

Review Posted Online: Jan. 26, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2019

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE WATER DANCER

The celebrated author of Between the World and Me (2015) and We Were Eight Years in Power (2017) merges magic, adventure, and antebellum intrigue in his first novel.

In pre–Civil War Virginia, people who are white, whatever their degree of refinement, are considered “the Quality” while those who are black, whatever their degree of dignity, are regarded as “the Tasked.” Whether such euphemisms for slavery actually existed in the 19th century, they are evocatively deployed in this account of the Underground Railroad and one of its conductors: Hiram Walker, one of the Tasked who’s barely out of his teens when he’s recruited to help guide escapees from bondage in the South to freedom in the North. “Conduction” has more than one meaning for Hiram. It's also the name for a mysterious force that transports certain gifted individuals from one place to another by way of a blue light that lifts and carries them along or across bodies of water. Hiram knows he has this gift after it saves him from drowning in a carriage mishap that kills his master’s oafish son (who’s Hiram’s biological brother). Whatever the source of this power, it galvanizes Hiram to leave behind not only his chains, but also the two Tasked people he loves most: Thena, a truculent older woman who practically raised him as a surrogate mother, and Sophia, a vivacious young friend from childhood whose attempt to accompany Hiram on his escape is thwarted practically at the start when they’re caught and jailed by slave catchers. Hiram directly confronts the most pernicious abuses of slavery before he is once again conducted away from danger and into sanctuary with the Underground, whose members convey him to the freer, if funkier environs of Philadelphia, where he continues to test his power and prepare to return to Virginia to emancipate the women he left behind—and to confront the mysteries of his past. Coates’ imaginative spin on the Underground Railroad’s history is as audacious as Colson Whitehead’s, if less intensely realized. Coates’ narrative flourishes and magic-powered protagonist are reminiscent of his work on Marvel’s Black Panther superhero comic book, but even his most melodramatic effects are deepened by historical facts and contemporary urgency.

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Pub Date: Sept. 24, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-399-59059-7

Page Count: 432

Publisher: One World/Random House

Review Posted Online: July 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more