A fast-paced and at times diverting mash-up of chick lit and fantasy.

READ REVIEW

666 PARK AVENUE

First in newcomer Pierce’s series chronicling Manhattan witch wars, as waged on and off the society pages.

Jane, a budding architect from Alsace, has just landed her first account in Paris. When she’s saved from hobbling on a broken stiletto heel by a handsome man and his limo, it’s a most inopportune time for love at first sight. But the chemistry between Malcolm Doran, a rich Manhattanite, and herself is instantaneous and, need we say, magical. Sporting the de rigueur multi-carat engagement rock (or is it a millstone?) around her finger, Jane takes Malcolm to meet her grandmother, Celine, who raised her after her American parents died. They arrive to find Celine dead in her secluded farmhouse. There is a legacy: a letter explaining Jane’s witchy pedigree and a silver ring of power. Wearing the ring, Jane now has the ability to read minds, but not Malcolm’s. It’s off to Manhattan where, before leaving on the first of innumerable business trips, Malcolm ensconces Jane at the family mansion for the duration of her imprisonment, er, engagement. This Park Avenue address (665, actually) houses some sinister female relatives (there’s even a genealogy chart, tracing female bloodlines, etched on the parlor wall), but the worst is harpy-in-chief Lynne, Malcolm’s mother. Left to Lynne’s mercy, Jane endures weeks of wedding planning, no-carb meals and unflattering gown suggestions. Bored silly, Jane bucks Lynne to take a job at MOMA as an events planner. A slow learner despite her magical aptitudes (she generates electrical disturbances when upset), it takes an attempt on a friend’s life before Jane recognizes that her potential in-laws are not merely eccentric but dangerous. Jane is only the latest pawn in witch clan warfare going back centuries (a poor argument for matriarchy, that). With the help of some well-meaning but nonmagical Wiccans, Jane learns to harness her powers, but can she make the leap from pawn to warrior queen?

A fast-paced and at times diverting mash-up of chick lit and fantasy.

Pub Date: Feb. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-06-143477-8

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Avon/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Dec. 30, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2019

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE WATER DANCER

The celebrated author of Between the World and Me (2015) and We Were Eight Years in Power (2017) merges magic, adventure, and antebellum intrigue in his first novel.

In pre–Civil War Virginia, people who are white, whatever their degree of refinement, are considered “the Quality” while those who are black, whatever their degree of dignity, are regarded as “the Tasked.” Whether such euphemisms for slavery actually existed in the 19th century, they are evocatively deployed in this account of the Underground Railroad and one of its conductors: Hiram Walker, one of the Tasked who’s barely out of his teens when he’s recruited to help guide escapees from bondage in the South to freedom in the North. “Conduction” has more than one meaning for Hiram. It's also the name for a mysterious force that transports certain gifted individuals from one place to another by way of a blue light that lifts and carries them along or across bodies of water. Hiram knows he has this gift after it saves him from drowning in a carriage mishap that kills his master’s oafish son (who’s Hiram’s biological brother). Whatever the source of this power, it galvanizes Hiram to leave behind not only his chains, but also the two Tasked people he loves most: Thena, a truculent older woman who practically raised him as a surrogate mother, and Sophia, a vivacious young friend from childhood whose attempt to accompany Hiram on his escape is thwarted practically at the start when they’re caught and jailed by slave catchers. Hiram directly confronts the most pernicious abuses of slavery before he is once again conducted away from danger and into sanctuary with the Underground, whose members convey him to the freer, if funkier environs of Philadelphia, where he continues to test his power and prepare to return to Virginia to emancipate the women he left behind—and to confront the mysteries of his past. Coates’ imaginative spin on the Underground Railroad’s history is as audacious as Colson Whitehead’s, if less intensely realized. Coates’ narrative flourishes and magic-powered protagonist are reminiscent of his work on Marvel’s Black Panther superhero comic book, but even his most melodramatic effects are deepened by historical facts and contemporary urgency.

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Pub Date: Sept. 24, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-399-59059-7

Page Count: 432

Publisher: One World/Random House

Review Posted Online: July 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more