UP

HOW POSITIVE OUTLOOK CAN TRANSFORM OUR HEALTH AND AGING

“Perhaps the real fountain of youth emanates not from the cosmetics counter but from what’s between your ears.” Tindle makes...

A spirited appreciation of and guide to the health benefits of an upbeat outlook on life.

By now, there have been enough studies to state the obvious, even if we haven’t cracked its genetic code or calibrated its precise nature/nurture balance: Being able to find your way to the bright side of the road will bless you with a longer, happier life than any grump out there is going to enjoy (or rather, not enjoy). Tindle (Medicine/Univ. of Pittsburgh) presents the latest findings on this subject with a freshness that could sell thousands of rose-colored glasses. Yet hers is not a witless optimism but a hard-won state of awareness, achieved by fighting through sloughs of despond and touched by a bit of knowing blindness that “protects us from being paralyzed by the fear that naturally arises on facing the unfiltered gravitas of a tough scenario.” Tindle recognizes the value of an individual's outlook, with its particular personality, character traits, disposition and attitudes, but she also sharply discourages readers from pulling the optimistic wool over their eyes. Among her correctives are short, educational passages on cognitive behavioral therapy, contemplation, guided imagery and motivational interviewing. She is constantly on the hunt for outlook optimization and ever mindful of the challenging psychological gymnastics of preventive health care. "If things become unstable,” she advises pragmatically, “scanning the horizon [and] formulating a plan B" are valuable fallback positions. A questionnaire helps readers locate their "attitude latitude," a too-cute phrase for the insightful summary it provides of a respondent's basic outlook.

“Perhaps the real fountain of youth emanates not from the cosmetics counter but from what’s between your ears.” Tindle makes a warm, accessible case, though Estée Lauder may not want us to hear it.

Pub Date: May 30, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-59463-121-4

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Hudson Street/Penguin

Review Posted Online: March 30, 2013

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15, 2013

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 3, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

THE CULTURE MAP

BREAKING THROUGH THE INVISIBLE BOUNDARIES OF GLOBAL BUSINESS

These are not hard and fast rules, but Meyer delivers important reading for those engaged in international business.

A helpful guide to working effectively with people from other cultures.

“The sad truth is that the vast majority of managers who conduct business internationally have little understanding about how culture is impacting their work,” writes Meyer, a professor at INSEAD, an international business school. Yet they face a wider array of work styles than ever before in dealing with clients, suppliers and colleagues from around the world. When is it best to speak or stay quiet? What is the role of the leader in the room? When working with foreign business people, failing to take cultural differences into account can lead to frustration, misunderstanding or worse. Based on research and her experiences teaching cross-cultural behaviors to executive students, the author examines a handful of key areas. Among others, they include communicating (Anglo-Saxons are explicit; Asians communicate implicitly, requiring listeners to read between the lines), developing a sense of trust (Brazilians do it over long lunches), and decision-making (Germans rely on consensus, Americans on one decider). In each area, the author provides a “culture map scale” that positions behaviors in more than 20 countries along a continuum, allowing readers to anticipate the preferences of individuals from a particular country: Do they like direct or indirect negative feedback? Are they rigid or flexible regarding deadlines? Do they favor verbal or written commitments? And so on. Meyer discusses managers who have faced perplexing situations, such as knowledgeable team members who fail to speak up in meetings or Indians who offer a puzzling half-shake, half-nod of the head. Cultural differences—not personality quirks—are the motivating factors behind many behavioral styles. Depending on our cultures, we understand the world in a particular way, find certain arguments persuasive or lacking merit, and consider some ways of making decisions or measuring time natural and others quite strange.

These are not hard and fast rules, but Meyer delivers important reading for those engaged in international business.

Pub Date: May 27, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-61039-250-1

Page Count: 288

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: April 15, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2014

Categories:
Close Quickview