A solid introduction to real estate investment.

THE EMPLOYEE MILLIONAIRE

HOW TO USE YOUR DAY JOB TO BECOME A MILLIONAIRE WITH RENTAL PROPERTIES

An investor shares tips for generating income from rental properties.

In this debut business book, Chammas guides readers through the basics of developing a real estate portfolio, with the narrative mirroring his own process of learning the ropes. The author channels several of his mentors, particularly his wife, Joyce, a banker, and Papa Joe, a Lebanese-American businessman with real estate holdings around the world. The volume’s lessons—how to calculate returns, the value of strong professional relationships, the mechanics of a mortgage—are often presented as conversations with these mentors. Each chapter ends with concrete action steps for readers, and most include sample worksheets and formulas. Chammas encourages readers to rely on loans to purchase income-generating real estate (“He explained that if I want to receive $1 million in the future, I need to borrow $1 million in good debt”); to buy properties below their appraised value (“by following clear and strict investment criteria and finding motivated sellers”); and to rent to highly screened tenants using detailed leases. He also argues that people need to adopt a new mindset in order to become wealthy (“People who have accumulated wealth have let go of an incredible number of misconceptions and limiting beliefs”). The book is at its strongest when it sticks to the mechanics of real estate investing, with solid recommendations for evaluating a property’s earning potential, sample letters of intent and purchase agreements, and closing checklists. Financial concepts are explained clearly, with equations and multiple examples to add to readers’ understanding. The emphasis on learning from experts in the field is another strength—using the example of a beautician who got advice from a woman whose nails she painted, Chammas shows that although luck is a factor in developing relationships with mentors, it can be done by those without professional connections. Readers interested in exploring real estate investing should find the work a useful primer covering the fundamentals of the industry in detail and with clarity.

A solid introduction to real estate investment.

Pub Date: June 27, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5437-4494-1

Page Count: 350

Publisher: PartridgeSingapore

Review Posted Online: Oct. 4, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A timely, vividly realized reminder to slow down and harness the restorative wonders of serenity.

STILLNESS IS THE KEY

An exploration of the importance of clarity through calmness in an increasingly fast-paced world.

Austin-based speaker and strategist Holiday (Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue, 2018, etc.) believes in downshifting one’s life and activities in order to fully grasp the wonder of stillness. He bolsters this theory with a wide array of perspectives—some based on ancient wisdom (one of the author’s specialties), others more modern—all with the intent to direct readers toward the essential importance of stillness and its “attainable path to enlightenment and excellence, greatness and happiness, performance as well as presence.” Readers will be encouraged by Holiday’s insistence that his methods are within anyone’s grasp. He acknowledges that this rare and coveted calm is already inside each of us, but it’s been worn down by the hustle of busy lives and distractions. Recognizing that this goal requires immense personal discipline, the author draws on the representational histories of John F. Kennedy, Buddha, Tiger Woods, Fred Rogers, Leonardo da Vinci, and many other creative thinkers and scholarly, scientific texts. These examples demonstrate how others have evolved past the noise of modern life and into the solitude of productive thought and cleansing tranquility. Holiday splits his accessible, empowering, and sporadically meandering narrative into a three-part “timeless trinity of mind, body, soul—the head, the heart, the human body.” He juxtaposes Stoic philosopher Seneca’s internal reflection and wisdom against Donald Trump’s egocentric existence, with much of his time spent “in his bathrobe, ranting about the news.” Holiday stresses that while contemporary life is filled with a dizzying variety of “competing priorities and beliefs,” the frenzy can be quelled and serenity maintained through a deliberative calming of the mind and body. The author shows how “stillness is what aims the arrow,” fostering focus, internal harmony, and the kind of holistic self-examination necessary for optimal contentment and mind-body centeredness. Throughout the narrative, he promotes that concept mindfully and convincingly.

A timely, vividly realized reminder to slow down and harness the restorative wonders of serenity.

Pub Date: Oct. 1, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-525-53858-5

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Portfolio

Review Posted Online: July 21, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more