An enthusiastic, passionate, and instructional take on a career in hospitality.

MASTERING HOSPITALITY

A LUXURY HOTELIER’S GUIDE TO CAREER AND LEADERSHIP SUCCESS

How to succeed in the hospitality business, as told by an international hotelier.

Essentially a hands-on career guide for anyone seeking to excel in the hotel business, this debut could not have been written by a more experienced professional. Dietschi loved hotels from the moment he stepped foot in one at age 10 in his native Switzerland. That passion eventually led to attending the prestigious Lausanne Hotel School and rising through the ranks until he became general manager at Ritz-Carlton and ultimately general manager and vice president at Marriott International. Leveraging this experience, the author generously shares his counsel and wisdom in a very readable book divided into two parts. In the first section, Dietschi recounts his own path on the way to becoming a luxury hotelier, offers a history lesson about hotels, and puts forth a grounding philosophy that could be summed up in a single sentence: “It is about how guests are made to feel.” The author writes eloquently about how to create “memorable guest experiences,” from reservations through departures and post-stays. He also addresses such important areas as “dressing and acting the part of a hotelier,” managing emotions while interacting with guests and employees, and getting started in a hospitality career. Dietschi’s expert analysis of the characteristics of the hotelier, in which he describes four specific mindsets (“Proactive,” “Guest,” “Quality,” and “Business and Entrepreneurial”), is particularly insightful; it provides a deep dive into the thought process of the consummate hotel professional. Part 2 is a treasure trove of advice for the aspiring hotelier or, for that matter, anyone contemplating a career in a customer-centric business. Here, the author introduces “Eight Principles for Excellence” that represent a playbook for success in the hospitality business, beginning with “Become Your Own Personal Brand” and ending with “Expand Your Knowledge Through Continuous Education.” Each of the principles is meticulously described and enhanced with useful examples. Dietschi covers personal attributes (“Be a Person of Integrity,” “Be Humble”), core competencies (“Time Management,” “Presentation Skills”), and more, offering actionable suggestions and tips.

An enthusiastic, passionate, and instructional take on a career in hospitality.

Pub Date: Jan. 16, 2021

ISBN: 978-0-9894912-5-9

Page Count: 274

Publisher: Dietschi Press

Review Posted Online: Feb. 27, 2021

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

THE GUCCI MANE GUIDE TO GREATNESS

A hip-hop star who went on his first international tour wearing an ankle monitor explains how to succeed.

“The words you are about to read can help you,” writes Gucci. “That’s because there is truth in them. These are words of wisdom, like the Bible and its proverbs.” Unquestionably, Gucci likes to aim high, as many of his proverbs attest: “Stop Underestimating Yourself”; “Whatever You’re Thinking, Think Bigger”; “Nobody Cares. Work Harder”; “When They Sleep, I’m Grinding”; “Do More, Get More.” And never forget, “Women Are Brilliant.” Gucci not only shares his recipes for success. As in a cookbook that shows pictures of the end result, the author includes dozens of dazzling photos of himself and his beautiful wife, among them a series on his surprise wedding proposal at an Atlanta Hawks game. After the success of his bestselling debut, The Autobiography of Gucci Mane, Gucci has realized there is money to be made in the book business. In addition to the Bible, he has his eye on Malcolm Gladwell and his reported $5 million advances. While he is “cool with Malcolm Gladwell being more celebrated than me as an author…the difference between Malcolm Gladwell and me is that I’m going to make more money because I’m going to make so many books for my following….You can enjoy this book or not, but I’m going to make my fifty-second book, my hundred and eighth book.” Many readers will hope that one of them will be a diet book, as the 100-plus pounds Gucci has lost and kept off are a frequent topic—alas, he doesn’t reveal his weight loss secrets here. Until the next book, try to live the Gucci Mane way. “Avoid lazy and miserable people,” and “Find something to be excited about every day.”

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

Pub Date: Oct. 13, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-982146-78-8

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Sept. 10, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

more