Breathlessly paced and engaging.

READ REVIEW

300 MINUTES OF DANGER

From the Countdown to Disaster series , Vol. 1

Ten action-packed short stories of survival, each taking place over the span of 30 minutes, will have readers on the edges of their seats.

George is in a charter airplane flying over the Russian wilderness on his way to a snowboarding camp (George calls it “boarding school”) when the plane malfunctions and the pilot jumps ship. Finding the only other parachute has been destroyed by a rat, George has to figure out what he is going to do before the plane crashes into the Urals. And that’s just the first story. Whether encountering a leviathan during a deep-sea excursion, becoming witness to a crime and then the object of pursuit, escaping a burning building, or avoiding exposure to nuclear radiation, the danger the characters experience in these plot-driven tales is palpable, reinforced with a countdown clock on the edge of each page. Each story stands alone (there are some interconnections) and immediately grabs the attention, making it easy to suspend disbelief in these far-fetched situations. Action-focused, the book offers little characterization or even description, suggesting a white default; one protagonist has an Arabic name and another a South Asian one. Sure to engage the most reluctant of readers, this will easily appeal to fans of Anthony Horowitz, Rodman Philbrick, and Lauren Tarshis’ I Survived series.

Breathlessly paced and engaging. (Short stories/adventure. 9-13)

Pub Date: April 7, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-4549-3141-6

Page Count: 192

Publisher: Sterling

Review Posted Online: Feb. 18, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Is this the end? Well, no…the series will stagger on through at least one more scheduled sequel.

CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS AND THE TERRIFYING RETURN OF TIPPY TINKLETROUSERS

From the Captain Underpants series , Vol. 9

Sure signs that the creative wells are running dry at last, the Captain’s ninth, overstuffed outing both recycles a villain (see Book 4) and offers trendy anti-bullying wish fulfillment.

Not that there aren’t pranks and envelope-pushing quips aplenty. To start, in an alternate ending to the previous episode, Principal Krupp ends up in prison (“…a lot like being a student at Jerome Horwitz Elementary School, except that the prison had better funding”). There, he witnesses fellow inmate Tippy Tinkletrousers (aka Professor Poopypants) escape in a giant Robo-Suit (later reduced to time-traveling trousers). The villain sets off after George and Harold, who are in juvie (“not much different from our old school…except that they have library books here.”). Cut to five years previous, in a prequel to the whole series. George and Harold link up in kindergarten to reduce a quartet of vicious bullies to giggling insanity with a relentless series of pranks involving shaving cream, spiders, effeminate spoof text messages and friendship bracelets. Pilkey tucks both topical jokes and bathroom humor into the cartoon art, and ups the narrative’s lexical ante with terms like “pharmaceuticals” and “theatrical flair.” Unfortunately, the bullies’ sad fates force Krupp to resign, so he’s not around to save the Earth from being destroyed later on by Talking Toilets and other invaders…

Is this the end? Well, no…the series will stagger on through at least one more scheduled sequel. (Fantasy. 10-12)

Pub Date: Aug. 28, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-545-17534-0

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: June 20, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2012

Did you like this book?

Written in workhorse prose, it’s an amiable enough read.

ALI CROSS

The prolific king of the beach read is back with an intergenerational mystery for the 9-to-12-year-old set.

Ali Cross, the son of Patterson’s most famous creation, African American homicide detective Alex Cross, is “starting to think the worst might have happened” to his mixed-race friend Gabriel “Gabe” Qualls, who disappeared on Dec. 21 and hasn’t been heard from as of Christmas Eve, when the book opens. Ali offers an impromptu prayer for Gabe at the pre-holiday service at his all-black church as well as an impromptu press conference outside of it as journalists and paparazzi confront Alex about his alleged coma-inducing assault of a murder suspect’s father. Then someone robs the Crosses’ home that night along with four other homes; the Crosses’ Christmas gifts are stolen. Ali, obsessed with finding Gabe and feeling that these events will distract his dad and the police from searching for him, starts his own investigation—complete with looking at some contraband footage of Gabe’s unusually loaded backpack obtained by Ali’s stepmother, also a cop—and questioning his school and gaming pals, a diverse group. Writing in Ali’s voice with occasional cutaways to third-person chapters that follow Alex, Patterson sprinkles the narrative with pop-culture references even as he takes readers through the detective process.

Written in workhorse prose, it’s an amiable enough read. (Mystery. 9-12)

Pub Date: Nov. 25, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-316-53041-5

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Jimmy Patterson/Little, Brown

Review Posted Online: July 24, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more