An eye-catching way to introduce older toddlers and preschoolers to the babies of our world.

READ REVIEW

WE LOVE BABIES!

Esbaum brings the littlest listeners an adorable and rollicking read-aloud about animal babies.

Bouncy rhymes and spot-on rhythms will delight little ears (“Paws and claws / and little flippers, / feet that look like fuzzy slippers. / Itty-bitty hooves and toes. // Webby footsies? / We love those!”), but inarguably, it is the photos that will attract and hold readers’ attention; accompanying the quote above, these include a black bear, a manatee with a parent, a polar bear, an Indian rhino, a mountain gorilla, and a trio of domestic ducks. Whether taking up a single- or double-page spread or simply placed in circular vignettes whose borders they frequently overflow, these babies will enthrall. While the animals are not labeled on the pages, the backmatter “Meet the babies” includes a circular thumbnail of each of the 54 (identical to the photo from the text), its name, and the name used for the baby animal (calf, chick, foal, etc.). Throughout, children will spy Hanson’s tiny cartoon animals with pompoms cheering about their love for babies of all kinds. Listeners will quickly catch their enthusiasm, though some rereads may be in order before they can chime in on the only thrice-repeated refrain: “We love babies! / Yes we do! / We love babies! / How about you?”

An eye-catching way to introduce older toddlers and preschoolers to the babies of our world. (Picture book. 2-5)

Pub Date: Dec. 31, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-4263-3748-2

Page Count: 40

Publisher: National Geographic Kids

Review Posted Online: Oct. 13, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Plotless and pointless, the book clearly exists only because its celebrity author wrote it.

YOUR BABY'S FIRST WORD WILL BE DADA

A succession of animal dads do their best to teach their young to say “Dada” in this picture-book vehicle for Fallon.

A grumpy bull says, “DADA!”; his calf moos back. A sad-looking ram insists, “DADA!”; his lamb baas back. A duck, a bee, a dog, a rabbit, a cat, a mouse, a donkey, a pig, a frog, a rooster, and a horse all fail similarly, spread by spread. A final two-spread sequence finds all of the animals arrayed across the pages, dads on the verso and children on the recto. All the text prior to this point has been either iterations of “Dada” or animal sounds in dialogue bubbles; here, narrative text states, “Now everybody get in line, let’s say it together one more time….” Upon the turn of the page, the animal dads gaze round-eyed as their young across the gutter all cry, “DADA!” (except the duckling, who says, “quack”). Ordóñez's illustrations have a bland, digital look, compositions hardly varying with the characters, although the pastel-colored backgrounds change. The punch line fails from a design standpoint, as the sudden, single-bubble chorus of “DADA” appears to be emanating from background features rather than the baby animals’ mouths (only some of which, on close inspection, appear to be open). It also fails to be funny.

Plotless and pointless, the book clearly exists only because its celebrity author wrote it. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: June 9, 2015

ISBN: 978-1-250-00934-0

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Review Posted Online: April 15, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an...

I AM A BIG BROTHER

A little boy exults in his new role as big brother.

Rhyming text describes the arrival of a new baby and all of the big brother’s rewarding new duties. He gets to help with feedings, diaper changes, playtime, bathtime, and naptime. Though the rhyming couplets can sometimes feel a bit forced and awkward, the sentiment is sweet, as the focus here never veers from the excitement and love a little boy feels for his tiny new sibling. The charming, uncluttered illustrations convincingly depict the growing bond between this fair-skinned, rosy-cheeked, smiling pair of boys. In the final pages, the parents, heretofore kept mostly out of view, are pictured holding the children. The accompanying text reads: “Mommy, Daddy, baby, me. / We love each other—a family!” In companion volume I Am a Big Sister, the little boy is replaced with a little girl with bows in her hair. Some of the colors and patterns in the illustrations are slightly altered, but it is essentially the same title.

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an older sibling can do to help. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Jan. 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-545-68886-4

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Cartwheel/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: March 17, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more