An example-heavy, spirited, and clearheaded coaching manual for business executives.

BUSINESS BULLSEYE

TAKE DEAD AIM AND ACHIEVE GREAT SUCCESS

A guide offers advice on how to succeed in business.

Spurlino begins his wide-ranging manual with its central analogy: equating the methodology of business success with the tactics used on the archery range. This includes surveying the challenges, sizing up the target, analyzing the nature of the competition, and hitting a bull’s-eye. For the author, the key to the analogy is “absolute focus on the optimal outcome”: “Aiming for the target and hoping for the bullseye can breed loss of focus and effort. I never want to stop focusing on the bullseye.” Spurlino takes readers through several basics of being in business and in each case illustrates the concept with a story from his own long experience. He examines such things as corporate culture and customer service, and his personal anecdotes always supply pointed examples that enhance these explorations. He continually reminded himself, for instance, to refer to any business he was running as “our” company, recognizing his employees’ valuable contributions. “I wanted everyone to know I considered the company ‘ours’ and its success was based on everyone’s involvement,” he writes. “We succeeded or failed together.” The author discusses a variety of business-related issues, from dealing with suppliers and competitors to handling unions, unionized employees, and hired professionals, such as lawyers and accountants. In all cases, Spurlino’s prose maintains a very effective balance between friendly conversation and the kind of no-euphemism straight talk that the best bosses typically use. His willingness to dig into the nuts and bolts of daily business concerns will make his lucid book of interest not only to company managers at all levels of expertise, but also to a large assortment of entrepreneurs.

An example-heavy, spirited, and clearheaded coaching manual for business executives.

Pub Date: March 2, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-64543-566-2

Page Count: 264

Publisher: Amplify Publishing

Review Posted Online: March 10, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

THE GUCCI MANE GUIDE TO GREATNESS

A hip-hop star who went on his first international tour wearing an ankle monitor explains how to succeed.

“The words you are about to read can help you,” writes Gucci. “That’s because there is truth in them. These are words of wisdom, like the Bible and its proverbs.” Unquestionably, Gucci likes to aim high, as many of his proverbs attest: “Stop Underestimating Yourself”; “Whatever You’re Thinking, Think Bigger”; “Nobody Cares. Work Harder”; “When They Sleep, I’m Grinding”; “Do More, Get More.” And never forget, “Women Are Brilliant.” Gucci not only shares his recipes for success. As in a cookbook that shows pictures of the end result, the author includes dozens of dazzling photos of himself and his beautiful wife, among them a series on his surprise wedding proposal at an Atlanta Hawks game. After the success of his bestselling debut, The Autobiography of Gucci Mane, Gucci has realized there is money to be made in the book business. In addition to the Bible, he has his eye on Malcolm Gladwell and his reported $5 million advances. While he is “cool with Malcolm Gladwell being more celebrated than me as an author…the difference between Malcolm Gladwell and me is that I’m going to make more money because I’m going to make so many books for my following….You can enjoy this book or not, but I’m going to make my fifty-second book, my hundred and eighth book.” Many readers will hope that one of them will be a diet book, as the 100-plus pounds Gucci has lost and kept off are a frequent topic—alas, he doesn’t reveal his weight loss secrets here. Until the next book, try to live the Gucci Mane way. “Avoid lazy and miserable people,” and “Find something to be excited about every day.”

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

Pub Date: Oct. 13, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-982146-78-8

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Sept. 10, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

more