For vehicle enthusiasts just starting school.

READ REVIEW

IT'S YOUR FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL, BUSY BUS!

A new bus is inspected on his first day.

Ben, the bus driver, opens the bus barn’s doors and says good morning to all the buses: Bossy, Zippy, Bouncy, Big, and the newest and smallest member of the fleet, Busy Bus. Busy Bus is very excited, and while Ben inspects his tires, tops up the gas, and adjusts the mirrors, “Busy Bus hopes the children will know they’re safe.” Ben moves inside to check the lights, stop arm, emergency door, fire extinguisher, and first aid kit while Busy Bus wonders if the children will “have fun” riding with him. Ben turns the motor on and checks the gauges and switches and wipers and brakes, but, inspection complete, Busy Bus has a sudden case of nerves: “What if I get homesick?…What if I don’t make any friends?” But one last touch from Ben steels the bus’s courage to go out and do his job. “Busy Bus is going to have a great year!” And hopefully readers will, too, though this book won’t do too much to calm their own fears or keep their interest if they are not into vehicle inspections. Still, the lino print and black ink illustrations with digital color are cute and cheerful, and readers will learn the parts of a bus. Ben presents white.

For vehicle enthusiasts just starting school. (Picture book. 2-6)

Pub Date: July 3, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-4814-9467-0

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Beach Lane/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: May 14, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Parents of toddlers starting school or day care should seek separation-anxiety remedies elsewhere, and fans of the original...

A KISSING HAND FOR CHESTER RACCOON

From the Kissing Hand series

A sweetened, condensed version of the best-selling picture book, The Kissing Hand.

As in the original, Chester Raccoon is nervous about attending Owl’s night school (raccoons are nocturnal). His mom kisses him on the paw and reminds him, “With a Kissing Hand… / We’ll never be apart.” The text boils the story down to its key elements, causing this version to feel rushed. Gone is the list of fun things Chester will get to do at school. Fans of the original may be disappointed that this board edition uses a different illustrator. Gibson’s work is equally sentimental, but her renderings are stiff and flat in comparison to the watercolors of Harper and Leak. Very young readers will probably not understand that Owl’s tree, filled with opossums, a squirrel, a chipmunk and others, is supposed to be a school.

Parents of toddlers starting school or day care should seek separation-anxiety remedies elsewhere, and fans of the original shouldn’t look to this version as replacement for their page-worn copies. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: April 1, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-933718-77-4

Page Count: 14

Publisher: Tanglewood Publishing

Review Posted Online: May 19, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an...

I AM A BIG BROTHER

A little boy exults in his new role as big brother.

Rhyming text describes the arrival of a new baby and all of the big brother’s rewarding new duties. He gets to help with feedings, diaper changes, playtime, bathtime, and naptime. Though the rhyming couplets can sometimes feel a bit forced and awkward, the sentiment is sweet, as the focus here never veers from the excitement and love a little boy feels for his tiny new sibling. The charming, uncluttered illustrations convincingly depict the growing bond between this fair-skinned, rosy-cheeked, smiling pair of boys. In the final pages, the parents, heretofore kept mostly out of view, are pictured holding the children. The accompanying text reads: “Mommy, Daddy, baby, me. / We love each other—a family!” In companion volume I Am a Big Sister, the little boy is replaced with a little girl with bows in her hair. Some of the colors and patterns in the illustrations are slightly altered, but it is essentially the same title.

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an older sibling can do to help. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Jan. 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-545-68886-4

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Cartwheel/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: March 17, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more