I AM A TIGER by Karl Newson
Kirkus Star

I AM A TIGER

by ; illustrated by
Age Range: 5 - 8
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

This mouse has moxie.

The titular “tiger” of Newson and Collins’ imaginative tale may have been born a mouse, but it’s a mouse made up of equal parts imagination and chutzpah. As the story begins, the unnamed, ungendered mouse proclaims proudly: “I am a tiger.” As a series of woodland animals begin to argue with the mouse, its claims of tigerhood grow more and more outlandish (and more humorous). When the expected tiger makes its appearance, the mouse doesn’t bat an eye as it declares, “You’re not a tiger. You’re a mouse!” And so begins the second half of the book as the mouse uses its zany logic to define the other animals in the story. The conclusion is open-ended, and readers hungry for more will extend the silliness on their own and hope for a sequel. Newson’s fearless tone and Collins’ humorous illustrations are a winning combination. The bold cartoons, set against bright, solid-colored backgrounds, are vibrant enough to be seen from the back of the classroom or storyhour room, and the expressions of each animal will definitely inspire rounds of giggles. Fans of David LaRochelle and Mike Wohnoutka’s Moo! (2013) and Kevin Sherry’s I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007) will add this title to their list of favorites.

This is one terrific book. (Picture book. 5-8)

Pub Date: July 30th, 2019
ISBN: 978-1-338-34989-4
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1st, 2019




MORE BY ROSS COLLINS

ChildrenWHAT DOES AN ANTEATER EAT? by Ross Collins
by Ross Collins
ChildrenMABEL JONES AND THE DOOMSDAY BOOK by Will Mabbitt
by Will Mabbitt
ChildrenTHERE'S A BEAR ON MY CHAIR by Ross Collins
by Ross Collins

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenMOO! by David LaRochelle
by David LaRochelle
ChildrenNOISY NIGHT by Mac Barnett
by Mac Barnett
ChildrenIF YOU GIVE A PIG A PANCAKE by Laura Joffe Numeroff
by Laura Joffe Numeroff