An intelligent, wide-ranging examination of the ways leaders can be their own worst enemies.

COMPOSURE

THE ART OF EXECUTIVE PRESENCE

A corporate guide focuses on managing stress and demands.

Starting at a very early age, write Purmal, Epting, and Smith in this business manual, high performers develop “a motivational pattern…in which they constantly seek rewards from external factors, such as grades, accomplishments, titles, evaluations, and the opinions of others.” As this pattern of collecting “performance-rewards” builds momentum, it renders these high performers very good at doing the kinds of things that garner these accolades—and very vulnerable to any criticism along the way. The authors connect this pattern with “Self-Determination Theory,” which posits two kinds of motivation: internal and external. The vagaries of external validation can provoke the kind of imposter syndrome that plagues the authors’ narrative example, a woman named Sarah whom readers follow through different stages of her corporate career. This ongoing dramatization grows more complex and involving as Sarah faces obstacles and interpersonal conflicts. This is a wise choice on the part of the authors—it puts a human face on their many combined years of learning and expertise in all matters of business motivation. When high performers steel themselves against the lack of external validation, they can start to feel like frauds without the rewards. The authors offer a good deal of insights into the waste involved when that happens. “Being left unexamined and unresolved,” they write, “outdated and unnecessary Impostor Behaviors are certain to stand in the way and derail us from achieving our most inspiring visions of who we can become.” The authors’ understandings of the nuances of insecurity and the workings of entitlement are delivered with refreshing complexity.

An intelligent, wide-ranging examination of the ways leaders can be their own worst enemies.

Pub Date: Oct. 19, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-63755-150-9

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Amplify Publishing

Review Posted Online: Oct. 12, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

Occasionally wonky but overall a good case for how the dismal science can make the world less—well, dismal.

GOOD ECONOMICS FOR HARD TIMES

“Quality of life means more than just consumption”: Two MIT economists urge that a smarter, more politically aware economics be brought to bear on social issues.

It’s no secret, write Banerjee and Duflo (co-authors: Poor Economics: A Radical Rethinking of the Way To Fight Global Poverty, 2011), that “we seem to have fallen on hard times.” Immigration, trade, inequality, and taxation problems present themselves daily, and they seem to be intractable. Economics can be put to use in figuring out these big-issue questions. Data can be adduced, for example, to answer the question of whether immigration tends to suppress wages. The answer: “There is no evidence low-skilled migration to rich countries drives wage and employment down for the natives.” In fact, it opens up opportunities for those natives by freeing them to look for better work. The problem becomes thornier when it comes to the matter of free trade; as the authors observe, “left-behind people live in left-behind places,” which explains why regional poverty descended on Appalachia when so many manufacturing jobs left for China in the age of globalism, leaving behind not just left-behind people but also people ripe for exploitation by nationalist politicians. The authors add, interestingly, that the same thing occurred in parts of Germany, Spain, and Norway that fell victim to the “China shock.” In what they call a “slightly technical aside,” they build a case for addressing trade issues not with trade wars but with consumption taxes: “It makes no sense to ask agricultural workers to lose their jobs just so steelworkers can keep theirs, which is what tariffs accomplish.” Policymakers might want to consider such counsel, especially when it is coupled with the observation that free trade benefits workers in poor countries but punishes workers in rich ones.

Occasionally wonky but overall a good case for how the dismal science can make the world less—well, dismal.

Pub Date: Nov. 12, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-61039-950-0

Page Count: 432

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: Aug. 29, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more