Intense and thought-provoking.

READ REVIEW

ALL EYES ON HER

High school senior Tabby becomes the subject of national media scrutiny after her swimming champion boyfriend dies under suspicious circumstances.

These things are certain: Seventeen-year-old Tabby and her college athlete boyfriend, Mark, went hiking up the treacherous summit known as the Split. Mark was found dead two days later; Tabby, who returned safely, is the primary suspect in this golden boy’s death. Did he slip, or was he pushed? Everyone else in their small Colorado town has an opinion on Tabby’s guilt or innocence, especially when the Amanda Knox–like case draws national attention and Tabby’s dubbed the “Blue-Eyed Boyfriend Killer.” In short, taut chapters complemented by diary entries, texts, police interviews, and tabloid articles, those who know the couple (e.g., Tabby’s sister, her rival, and their best friends) confess their sides of the story directly to readers. Ratcheting up the tension are secrets of their own along with their unreliable versions of Tabby and Mark’s relationship, including their possible sexual indiscretions and jealousy. But is the judgment greater because Tabby is female? As even complete strangers assess her culpability, Flynn explores slut-shaming culture and unrealistic expectations forced upon teenage girls in this edgy psychological thriller, perfect for fans of We Were Liars and One of Us Is Lying. All characters are white.

Intense and thought-provoking. (Thriller. 14-18)

Pub Date: June 2, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-250-15817-8

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Imprint

Review Posted Online: March 11, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A treat for mystery readers who enjoy being kept in suspense.

A GOOD GIRL'S GUIDE TO MURDER

Everyone believes that Salil Singh killed his girlfriend, Andrea Bell, five years ago—except Pippa Fitz-Amobi.

Pip has known and liked Sal since childhood; he’d supported her when she was being bullied in middle school. For her senior capstone project, Pip researches the disappearance of former Fairview High student Andie, last seen on April 18, 2014, by her younger sister, Becca. The original investigation concluded with most of the evidence pointing to Sal, who was found dead in the woods, apparently by suicide. Andie’s body was never recovered, and Sal was assumed by most to be guilty of abduction and murder. Unable to ignore the gaps in the case, Pip sets out to prove Sal’s innocence, beginning with interviewing his younger brother, Ravi. With his help, Pip digs deeper, unveiling unsavory facts about Andie and the real reason Sal’s friends couldn’t provide him with an alibi. But someone is watching, and Pip may be in more danger than she realizes. Pip’s sleuthing is both impressive and accessible. Online articles about the case and interview transcripts are provided throughout, and Pip’s capstone logs offer insights into her thought processes as new evidence and suspects arise. Jackson’s debut is well-executed and surprises readers with a connective web of interesting characters and motives. Pip and Andie are white, and Sal is of Indian descent.

A treat for mystery readers who enjoy being kept in suspense. (Mystery. 14-18)

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-9636-0

Page Count: 400

Publisher: Delacorte

Review Posted Online: Oct. 28, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A fast-paced, plot-driven page-turner for fans of darker mysteries.

THE LOST

A teen fights to survive in the midst of a mystery not unlike the ones she enjoys reading.

In the small town of Mauveton, 11 teenagers have disappeared in the past six months. The police seem to be writing them off as runaways, but introverted 16-year-old crime enthusiast Piper and her friend Hazel believe there is more to the story. The girls decide to investigate the disappearances by following in the footsteps of the missing teens right before they supposedly ran away. While hanging out at the local lake where most of the town’s teens spend their free time during the summer, they run into a couple of wealthy local college boys. They soon discover the truth: Locked away in a hidden compound filled with horrific surprises, Piper has to find the will to survive and make it back to her parents alive, especially since they already lost one daughter. Preston (You Will Be Mine, 2018, etc.) weaves a terrifying tale with unexpected friendships, romance, and surprising twists. Most characters are assumed white, but there is some diversity in secondary characters. While the unforeseen twists and unexpected ending make this an intriguing read, the story moves very quickly, leaving little room for relationships and characters to develop believably.

A fast-paced, plot-driven page-turner for fans of darker mysteries. (Thriller. 14-18)

Pub Date: April 2, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-4926-5226-7

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Review Posted Online: Jan. 8, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more