Aesch’s deft handling of angry customers, union thugs and other critics illustrates how this CEO’s winning attitude played a...

READ REVIEW

DRIVING EXCELLENCE

MANAGEMENT PRINCIPLES FROM THE LITTLE BUS COMPANY THAT COULD

Upbeat, inspiring account of the surprising makeover of an upstate New York bus company.

“Change can really happen,” writes Aesch, CEO of the Rochester Genesee Regional Transportation Authority. “People can learn to do things differently.” In 2004, at age 37 and with little business training, the author took charge of an inefficient public bus company with a $27 million deficit and transformed it within two years into a performance-based public-private organization with a nearly $20 million surplus. It was all part of “something magical” that happened when Aesch successfully persuaded everyone to help reinvent the ailing Rochester organization. His leadership of the turnaround is all the more remarkable considering that the author relied only on commonsense wisdom learned from his farmer parents. Suggesting that any dysfunctional enterprise can remake itself following his managerial principles, he offers a feel-good chronicle of his actions, beginning with an overhaul of the company’s paternalistic and ego-driven culture. Managers began listening to front-line workers and engaged them in a customer-service campaign that viewed passengers as customers who deserved a product worth buying. Despite misgivings, employees helped create and gradually became invested in a new strategic vision, which argued that the company provided a product, not services, and that drivers operated not “buses” but “stores.” The author details the introduction of such key changes as purposeful spending, accountability, performance incentives and decision-making based on real information about the company’s actual performance rather than gut impulse. At each turn, the author made sure the underlying logic of new methods (revamped bus schedules, etc.) was understood by everyone. Keeping data constantly in mind, the company grew “just a little bit better each week, each quarter, each year.”

Aesch’s deft handling of angry customers, union thugs and other critics illustrates how this CEO’s winning attitude played a critical role in the making of a transformed and still-growing organization.

Pub Date: Feb. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-1-4013-2397-4

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Hyperion

Review Posted Online: Dec. 2, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2010

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

Not only the definitive life, but a tour de force by a master.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2019

  • New York Times Bestseller

EDISON

One of history’s most prolific inventors receives his due from one of the world’s greatest biographers.

Pulitzer and National Book Award winner Morris (This Living Hand and Other Essays, 2012, etc.), who died this year, agrees that Thomas Edison (1847-1931) almost certainly said, “genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration,” and few readers of this outstanding biography will doubt that he was the quintessential workaholic. Raised in a middle-class Michigan family, Edison displayed an obsessive entrepreneurial spirit from childhood. As an adolescent, he ran a thriving business selling food and newspapers on a local railroad. Learning Morse code, he spent the Civil War as a telegrapher, impressing colleagues with his speed and superiors with his ability to improve the equipment. In 1870, he opened his own shop to produce inventions to order. By 1876, he had money to build a large laboratory in New Jersey, possibly the world’s first industrial research facility. Never a loner, Edison hired talented people to assist him. The dazzling results included the first commercially successful light bulb for which, Morris reminds readers, he invented the entire system: dynamo, wires, transformers, connections, and switches. Critics proclaim that Edison’s innovations (motion pictures, fluoroscope, rechargeable batteries, mimeograph, etc.) were merely improvements on others’ work, but this is mostly a matter of sour grapes. Alexander Graham Bell’s telephone was a clunky, short-range device until it added Edison’s carbon microphone. And his phonograph flabbergasted everyone. Humans had been making images long before Daguerre, but no one had ever reproduced sound. Morris rivetingly describes the personalities, business details, and practical uses of Edison’s inventions as well as the massive technical details of years of research and trial and error for both his triumphs and his failures. For no obvious reason, the author writes in reverse chronological order, beginning in 1920, with each of the seven following chapters backtracking a decade. It may not satisfy all readers, but it works.

Not only the definitive life, but a tour de force by a master.

Pub Date: Oct. 22, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-8129-9311-0

Page Count: 800

Publisher: Random House

Review Posted Online: July 15, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

more