A good addition to the fractious-farm-animals genre, and a fine bedtime story to boot. (Picture book. 2-5)

LAZY DAISY, CRANKY FRANKIE

Another farm where the animals misbehave—well, they are good at something anyway.

"This is my cow, / she's called Daisy. / She should eat grass, / but she's too lazy." Instead what does Daisy do? She sits around all day being spoon-fed jelly. Nancy the pig is no better at doing what she ought. She's much too fancy to roll in the mud. "Instead she stares / at her reflection, / 'My oh my, / you are perfection.' " Lizzie the chicken doesn't lay eggs; she’s much too busy dancing in her purple underwear. Frankie the dog rounds out this rogue's gallery. He's far too cranky to herd the sheep. Instead he watches television and demands tea and cakes. "This is my farm, / it might not look good. / None of the animals / do what they should." But when nighttime comes, all of the animals display their expertise...at sleeping. Jordan and Weldon offer up this Australian farm that, like so many American farms in picture-book–land, finds itself peopled with contrary animals. The rhyming text will be easy to learn, and audiences will enjoy watching the ever-so-slightly goofy animals act up. The watercolor illustrations feature expressive cartoon animals who range from bored Daisy to seemingly over-caffeinated Lizzie. The roller-skating sheep glaring out from under its top hat is particularly hysterical.

A good addition to the fractious-farm-animals genre, and a fine bedtime story to boot. (Picture book. 2-5)

Pub Date: March 1, 2013

ISBN: 978-0-8075-4400-6

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Whitman

Review Posted Online: Dec. 26, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2013

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

This ambitious, interactive exploration of color will be of particular appeal to dog lovers.

COLOR DOG

A chunky board book about colors features photographs of dogs and incorporates many interactive elements.

Even the front cover of this title is interactive. Pull a large red tab, and a bulldog’s head moves back and forth as he chews on the shoelace of a red tennis shoe. Inside, further interactive features, rhyming text, and illustrations featuring cute pups and their adorable antics await. For example, the orange pages offer a collage of pumpkins, autumn foliage, puppies, and a cat, reading: “Orange the patch of pumpkins, / Orange the autumn leaves, / Orange the frumpy, napping cat… / that I chase up a tree.” One of the pumpkins is a flap that conceals the face of a precious pup, and another, larger flap hides a pop-up tree branch on which an orange kitty perches. Other pages incorporate some more noxious surprises, such as: “Green the swamp I love to swim in, / Green the summer grass, / Green the color of the air… / when my dog food gives me gas.” Pull the tab here to trigger a large green cloud that emanates from the back end of a suitably embarrassed-looking basset hound.

This ambitious, interactive exploration of color will be of particular appeal to dog lovers. (Board book. 2-5)

Pub Date: Aug. 25, 2015

ISBN: 978-1-4814-4986-1

Page Count: 22

Publisher: Paula Wiseman/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Sept. 21, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2016

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an...

I AM A BIG BROTHER

A little boy exults in his new role as big brother.

Rhyming text describes the arrival of a new baby and all of the big brother’s rewarding new duties. He gets to help with feedings, diaper changes, playtime, bathtime, and naptime. Though the rhyming couplets can sometimes feel a bit forced and awkward, the sentiment is sweet, as the focus here never veers from the excitement and love a little boy feels for his tiny new sibling. The charming, uncluttered illustrations convincingly depict the growing bond between this fair-skinned, rosy-cheeked, smiling pair of boys. In the final pages, the parents, heretofore kept mostly out of view, are pictured holding the children. The accompanying text reads: “Mommy, Daddy, baby, me. / We love each other—a family!” In companion volume I Am a Big Sister, the little boy is replaced with a little girl with bows in her hair. Some of the colors and patterns in the illustrations are slightly altered, but it is essentially the same title.

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an older sibling can do to help. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Jan. 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-545-68886-4

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Cartwheel/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: March 17, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more