BEAT THE ODDS by Megan Atwood


From the "Contest" series, volume 2
Age Range: 12 - 18
Email this review


This second in a series of five novellas following a single storyline focuses on Latina Ana, who is trying to escape her abusive foster father.

Ana Rivera and her little sister seem to be lucky: they are the foster children of a wealthy and powerful couple. However, their foster father secretly beats the girls, and Ana has managed to get proof that she hopes will expose him. Her main goal, however, is to escape, and she has saved almost enough money to get away. When she encounters an online contest run by an anonymous “Benefactor” that promises to pay her $10 million if she can be the first of the contestants to complete 10 tasks, she enters. Her first task makes no sense to her, but she sneaks out of the house and does it. As the tasks become ever more dangerous and clearly criminal, she begins to want out. However, the Benefactor appears to know everything about her and seems somehow to be watching her every move. Now desperate to escape the contest, she approaches the final tasks and meets the other three contestants, hoping that somehow they can regain control of their lives. All the novellas fit together like a well-crafted puzzle, each following a different contestant. Although the storyline clearly leads to a conclusion in the fifth book, the preliminary volumes can be read in any order.

Compelling suspense delivered in a small dose. (Thriller. 12-18)

Pub Date: Feb. 1st, 2016
ISBN: 978-1-4677-7507-6
Page count: 104pp
Publisher: Darby Creek
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 15th, 2015


ChildrenONCE UPON A WINTER  by Megan Atwood
by Megan Atwood
ChildrenICE CREAM SUMMER  by Megan Atwood
by Megan Atwood
ChildrenRAISE THE STAKES by Megan Atwood
by Megan Atwood


ChildrenIN TOO DEEP by Norah McClintock
by Norah McClintock
ChildrenSTRAIGHT PUNCH by Monique Polak
by Monique Polak
ChildrenSLEIGHT OF HAND by Natasha Deen
by Natasha Deen