A disappointingly bland memoir lacking the effervescence that put Coke on the map.

READ REVIEW

INSIDE COCA-COLA

A CEO'S LIFE STORY OF BUILDING THE WORLD'S MOST POPULAR BRAND

The highs and lows of America’s favorite soda from an upper-level executive.

Isdell offers a straightforward, prosaic hybrid of history and histrionics in describing his time at the soft-drink giant. The author retraces his youth, when he and his family moved from Northern Ireland (where Coke was considered “exotic”) to Africa, where his tall stature served him well on and off the rugby field. After college, business aspirations replaced social-work training, and Isdell began driving delivery trucks at a Coca-Cola bottling depot in Zambia for a yearly salary of just over $1,000. The author climbed the corporate ladder and familiarized himself with the adversarial politics between bottling facilities and the company. This strategy paid off with a succession of managerial positions in Johannesburg as racial strife in Africa’s economic hub enlightened Isdell on the woes of civil unrest and afforded him time to tailor his own business acumen, including honing a knack for resolving “human conflicts.” Employing a flat, workmanlike tone, the author recaps the locales of his successful upper-management career spent boosting profits in slacking “turnaround markets” in Australia, central Europe and India, then strategizing the perpetual rivalry with Pepsi in the Philippines. He also fair-mindedly details Coke’s darker days: the 1997 death of esteemed leader Roberto Goizueta and the company’s 2004 scrutiny by the SEC for exaggerated sales figures and the suspected terrorization of Colombian union workers. Remaining a dedicated brand loyalist, Isdell writes of being plucked from his retirement in Barbados after 30 years at Coca-Cola and thrust back into the fray as chairman and CEO. Seemingly indefatigable, the author promised to restore the company to its former glory during his five-year tenure. A final chapter finds Isdell applying his experiences to the tenets of contemporary global industries, passionately reiterating the need for increased “corporate social responsibility.”

A disappointingly bland memoir lacking the effervescence that put Coke on the map.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-312-61795-0

Page Count: 272

Publisher: St. Martin's

Review Posted Online: Sept. 20, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

REIMAGINING CAPITALISM IN A WORLD ON FIRE

A well-constructed critique of an economic system that, by the author’s account, is a driver of the world’s destruction.

Harvard Business School professor Henderson vigorously questions the bromide that “management’s only duty is to maximize shareholder value,” a notion advanced by Milton Friedman and accepted uncritically in business schools ever since. By that logic, writes the author, there is no reason why corporations should not fish out the oceans, raise drug prices, militate against public education (since it costs tax money), and otherwise behave ruinously and anti-socially. Many do, even though an alternative theory of business organization argues that corporations and society should enjoy a symbiotic relationship of mutual benefit, which includes corporate investment in what economists call public goods. Given that the history of humankind is “the story of our increasing ability to cooperate at larger and larger scales,” one would hope that in the face of environmental degradation and other threats, we might adopt the symbiotic model rather than the winner-take-all one. Problems abound, of course, including that of the “free rider,” the corporation that takes the benefits from collaborative agreements but does none of the work. Henderson examines case studies such as a large food company that emphasized environmentally responsible production and in turn built “purpose-led, sustainable living brands” and otherwise led the way in increasing shareholder value by reducing risk while building demand. The author argues that the “short-termism” that dominates corporate thinking needs to be adjusted to a longer view even though the larger problem might be better characterized as “failure of information.” Henderson closes with a set of prescriptions for bringing a more equitable economics to the personal level, one that, among other things, asks us to step outside routine—eat less meat, drive less—and become active in forcing corporations (and politicians) to be better citizens.

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

Pub Date: May 1, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-5417-3015-1

Page Count: 336

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: Feb. 17, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more