With this expansion of the Can You Say it, Too? series, Braun and Nosy Crow prove they’ve hit upon a winning formula.

GROWL! GROWL!

From the Can You Say It, Too? series

In this simple, inviting and sturdy lift-the-flap title, wild animals enjoy several rounds of peekaboo with readers. 

“Who’s that behind the rock?” Readers can pull back the rock-shaped flap to reveal “a hungry bear! Growl! Growl!” Next they’ll encounter a “pretty parrot” among the flowers, a “wiggly snake” beside the stump and a “playful monkey” hanging in the branches. On the final spread, a “happy tiger” resting in the grass is also a flap herself, and her three cubs cavort behind her for some bonus fun. Parts of each animal appear behind the flaps—the monkey’s tail or the snake’s tongue, for example—to provide little hints for older or repeat readers. The graphically simple critters in a cheery palette are easy to recognize as well as lively and engaging. Publishing simultaneously, Roar! Roar! takes readers on a similar expedition to find animals mostly native to the African continent. The thick flaps and thicker pages make both offerings likely to stand up to the inevitable punishment they will endure from toddlers clamoring for more.

With this expansion of the Can You Say it, Too? series, Braun and Nosy Crow prove they’ve hit upon a winning formula. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)

Pub Date: Aug. 5, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-7636-7396-3

Page Count: 10

Publisher: Nosy Crow/Candlewick

Review Posted Online: Aug. 6, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

The greeting-card art and jokey rhymes work for the baby-shower market but not for the youngest readers.

I LOVE YOU LIKE NO OTTER

Animal parents declare their love for their offspring through rhymed puns and sentimental art.

The title sets the scene for what’s to come: The owl asks the owlet as they fly together, “WHOO loves you?”; the kangaroo and joey make each other “very HOPPY”; and the lioness and cub are a “PURRRFECT pair.” Most of the puns are both unimaginative and groanworthy, and they are likely to go over the heads of toddlers, who are not know for their wordplay abilities. The text is set in abcb quatrains split over two double-page spreads. On each spread, one couplet appears on the verso within a lightly decorated border on pastel pages. On the recto, a full-bleed portrait of the animal and baby appears in softly colored and cozy images. Hearts are prominent on every page, floating between the parent and baby as if it is necessary to show the love between each pair. Although these critters are depicted in mistily conceived natural habitats and are unclothed, they are human stand-ins through and through.

The greeting-card art and jokey rhymes work for the baby-shower market but not for the youngest readers. (Board book. 6 mos-2)

Pub Date: Jan. 7, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-7282-1374-3

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Sourcebooks Wonderland

Review Posted Online: June 30, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An unabashed love letter from mother.

I LOVE YOU, LITTLE POOKIE

From the Little Pookie series

A sweet celebration of the bond between a mother and her Pookie.

The eighth installment in this always charming series eschews the episodic drama and silliness of earlier outing such as Spooky Pookie (2015) in favor of a mom’s-eye-view celebration of her child and the time they spend together. There is, of course, nothing wrong with drama and silliness. But while the lack of conflict and plot in favor of unapologetic sentiment makes this book a quick read, that doesn’t make it any less endearing. The rhymed verse captures a mother’s wonder as she observes the many facets of her child’s personality: “Ah, Pookie. My little one. My funny one. My child. // Sometimes you are quiet. Sometimes you are wild.” On the simple joys of shared moments, she notes, “I love to go walking with you by my side. / I love when we sing when we go for a ride. // And I love just to watch as you think and you play. / The way that you are is a wonderful way.” Paired with author/illustrator Boynton’s irresistible renderings of a porcine mommy and her playful, snuggly little piglet, the result is impossible to fault. Whether quietly reading, running in a tiger suit, singing with mom in the car, ears flapping in the breeze, or enjoying the safety of mom’s embrace, Pookie’s appeal continues unabated.

An unabashed love letter from mother. (Board book. 1-4)

Pub Date: Dec. 4, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5344-3723-4

Page Count: 18

Publisher: Little Simon/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Dec. 5, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

more