THE LUCK UGLIES by Paul Durham
Kirkus Star


From the "Luck Uglies" series, volume 1
Age Range: 9 - 13
Email this review


A sparkling middle-grade fantasy opens a trilogy.

Rye O’Chanter is a somewhat clumsy 11-year-old who enjoys hijinks with best friends Quinn and Folly on the roofs and lanes of Village Drowning, a dark, medieval-feeling town. It’s run by a nasty, self-absorbed earl and surrounded by bogs that have spawned a legend of Bog Noblins—vile beasts who eat unwary villagers and adorn themselves with necklaces made out of said villagers’ feet. Many years earlier, a secret society of protectors named Luck Uglies had fought and vanquished the Bog Noblins, and now, neither monsters nor secret society members exist. Or do they? When a real, not-just-legend, Bog Noblin shows up and begins to terrorize Village Drowning, old fears as well as old secrets are resurrected. Debut author Durham spins a tale of intrigue and adventure peopled with characters so individually full of both goodness and flaws that readers will immediately relate. It is this nuance of character that raises the narrative above the trope of a good-vs.-evil storyline and into richer, more layered territory. Durham combines intelligent writing that does not talk down to the intended audience with an innocent charm—a concoction that is sure to captivate readers and make them thankful that this is Book 1 of a trilogy.

 Layers, nuance, wit and a thumping good story make this a must-read. (Fantasy. 9-13)

Pub Date: April 29th, 2014
ISBN: 978-0-06-227150-1
Page count: 400pp
Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 15th, 2014


ChildrenTHE LAST GARGOYLE by Paul Durham
by Paul Durham
ChildrenRISE OF THE RAGGED CLOVER by Paul Durham
by Paul Durham
ChildrenFORK-TONGUE CHARMERS by Paul Durham
by Paul Durham


ChildrenFOXHEART by Claire Legrand
by Claire Legrand
ChildrenTHE LAST CHANGELING by Jane Yolen
by Jane Yolen
ChildrenTHE LIGHTNING THIEF by Rick Riordan
by Rick Riordan