Not nearly so vague and self-absorbed as most works of this genre: a worthwhile effort.

READ REVIEW

THE BEATEN PATH

FIELD NOTES ON GETTING WISE IN A WISDOM-CRAZY WORLD

From the son of New Age guru Peter Tompkins, engagingly frank recollections of an adolescent search for wisdom among the usual suspects—Tao, Buddha, and Castañeda—whose prescriptions turn out, on closer examination, to be no more enlightening or realistic than conventional nostrums.

Tompkins doesn’t trivialize his experiences, but he is also self-deprecating—which makes his account of the getting of wisdom agreeably free of earnestness or self-absorption, the usual fatal flaws of the genre. As he notes in the introduction, his family and the times (the 1970s) predisposed him to search for answers outside the mainstream. Like many others of the era, he was attracted to the “life manuals that are the sacred literature for a culture that has forgotten what to do with its original sacred literature.” After a senior year in high school spent reading about Taoism, as well as taking “a big bite of Huxleyan (Aldous) visionary bread,” he went off to Vassar—chosen because he thought its lingering “Sissy image” might be more open to the “Tao” way of living. But college turned out to be unhelpful, so Tompkins took a semester off and accompanied Nick, a practicing Buddhist relative, to Colombia to help him photograph local villagers. He found both the experience and Nick’s Buddhism disappointing, but he was determined to continue his search. Making frequent reference to the Bhagavad-gita, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, and Black Elk Speaks, Tompkins describes how he turned next to writing, then to hallucinogenic mushrooms, and finally to California. Frustrated that he remained unenlightened, and suspecting that his wise man were fundamentally flawed, he decided in the end that there was no single “right” way to enlightenment—and that wisdom may well lie in “turning yourself over to the process even before you knew where it was going.”

Not nearly so vague and self-absorbed as most works of this genre: a worthwhile effort.

Pub Date: Aug. 1, 2001

ISBN: 0-380-97822-9

Page Count: 240

Publisher: Morrow/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1, 2001

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

OPEN BOOK

The debut memoir from the pop and fashion star.

Early on, Simpson describes the book she didn’t write: “a motivational manual telling you how to live your best life.” Though having committed to the lucrative deal years before, she “walked away,” fearing any sort of self-help advice she might give would be hypocritical. Outwardly, Simpson was at the peak of her success, with her fashion line generating “one billion dollars in annual sales.” However, anxiety was getting the better of her, and she admits she’d become a “feelings addict,” just needing “enough noise to distract me from the pain I’d been avoiding since childhood. The demons of traumatic abuse that refused to let me sleep at night—Tylenol PM at age twelve, red wine and Ambien as a grown, scared woman. Those same demons who perched on my shoulder, and when they saw a man as dark as them, leaned in to my ear to whisper, ‘Just give him your light. See if it saves him…’ ” On Halloween 2017, Simpson hit rock bottom, and, with the intervention of her devoted friends and husband, began to address her addictions and underlying fears. In this readable but overlong narrative, the author traces her childhood as a Baptist preacher’s daughter moving 18 times before she “hit fifth grade,” and follows her remarkable rise to fame as a singer. She reveals the psychological trauma resulting from years of sexual abuse by a family friend, experiences that drew her repeatedly into bad relationships with men, most publicly with ex-husband Nick Lachey. Admitting that she was attracted to the validating power of an audience, Simpson analyzes how her failings and triumphs have enabled her to take control of her life, even as she was hounded by the press and various music and movie executives about her weight. Simpson’s memoir contains plenty of personal and professional moments for fans to savor.

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-289996-5

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Dey Street/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2020

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more