FLYING FREE by Sharon Dennis Wyeth


Corey’s Underground Railroad Diary, Book Two
Age Range: 7 - 12
Email this review


Corey Birdsong and his family have reached freedom in Canada in this sequel to Freedom’s Wings (not reviewed). His journal relates the last harrowing days of their flight from slavery, their feelings of rapture upon arrival, and the steps they take to forge a new, independent life. They are welcomed in a community that is made up largely of other former slaves. Here they dare to dream of owning their own farm, of proper schooling, of making their mark. Corey is fascinated by the people around him, and makes special note of the black people who have responsible, respected places in society. But they must always be aware that there are slave-catchers just over the water who are waiting for a chance to recapture the runaways and return them to slavery. And always in their hearts are the people they left behind, like Corey’s best friend Mingo. Wyeth breathes full life into Corey. His voice is true and clear. He is loving, curious, intelligent, brave, and determined. He’s thrilled by all the new sights, sounds, and experiences, and describes everything and everyone with delightful and insightful enthusiasm. There are many well-written works for children concerning daring and dangerous escapes along the Underground Railroad, but most end with the first steps into Canada. Here, finally, is a glimpse of what came next. Besides weaving many historically accurate facts within the story, Wyeth provides an interesting, informative afterword that includes period photographs. Fascinating. (Historical fiction. 7-12)

Pub Date: May 1st, 2001
ISBN: 0-439-24443-9
Page count: 112pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15th, 2002


ChildrenTHE GRANDDAUGHTER NECKLACE by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
ChildrenORPHEA PROUD by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
ChildrenA PIECE OF HEAVEN by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
by Sharon Dennis Wyeth