Email this review


This collection of poems considers lost love and reflections of romance gone awry as well as the value of relationships in modern times.

Though all the poems here relate to love and loss, they vary widely in tone and imagery. “Walking” plays at the idea of hitting rock bottom or understanding that life can only rise once one knows the ugliest, most sunken-down version of the self. Others hold light, whimsical titles, their verses filled with biting resentment and dark, jaded emotion. “Like Painted Ladies” paints ladies as colorful lures that suck a man’s wallet dry. “Miss Fantasy” describes a “perfect” woman who leaves the speaker spellbound with lust, but in the end, the poem quickly turns to a conceit, making the point that no such woman exists; only in the mind does such a being lure the imagination. “Trace of Red” hints at sex without becoming too explicit. These varied emotions depict the swarm of pains, delights and confusions felt when in love and when losing one’s loved one. Pieces such as “It Will Never Be Okay” and “The Edge of My Mind” spell out despair through images of the speaker unable to shake the past and move forward to the present. During these moments, perhaps the collection’s uplifting direction loses momentum. At times, the speaker seems unresolved, but at the collection’s end, “100 Years” makes a strong statement: “100 years from now / No one will know who we were, / And no one will care, / But we had our time.” For the most part, though, the collection’s downward spiral into despair conveys a reality to which many readers will relate.

A highly readable collection of poetry that deals with the familiar theme of broken love. 

Pub Date: Jan. 27th, 2014
ISBN: 978-1491851746
Page count: 200pp
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Program: Kirkus Indie
Review Posted Online: