A GIFT FOR GOOSE by Tad Hills

A GIFT FOR GOOSE

From the "Duck & Goose" series
by ; illustrated by
Age Range: 4 - 7
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Picture- and board-book duo Duck and Goose get the early-reader treatment.

Duck has a gift for his pal Goose—and it’s not even Goose’s birthday! The friendliest fowl around, Duck puts this gift (a mystery to readers) in a white box, paints the box in colorful stripes, and ties a ribbon around it. To top it off, he even includes a handmade card. Goose arrives on the scene and starts honking questions about the present. As soon as Goose realizes the box is for him—and is a convenient receptacle for all his “special things”—he rushes off to gather his many treasures. When Goose returns, Duck tells his hasty friend the box is not the actual gift and invites him to open it, which Goose does to discover…another box! Using a vocabulary of around 60 unique words (usually 8 or fewer per page) Hills successfully shepherds the duo into their newest format. Rather than using italics, the design underlines a few words for emphasis. The spare mixed-media illustrations directly correlate to the text, featuring one or both birds in a patch of grass set against an ample solid white background. In addition to aiding decoding, the book’s predictable pattern contributes to its well-paced comedic moments. On one spread, for instance, Goose unexpectedly breaks the fourth wall in a moment of heightened emotion.

Fans of Duck and Goose can happily take the pair with them as they move toward independent reading. (Early reader. 4-7)

Pub Date: Jan. 8th, 2019
ISBN: 978-0-525-64489-7
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Schwartz & Wade/Random
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1st, 2018




MORE BY TAD HILLS

ChildrenROCKET THE BRAVE! by Tad Hills
by Tad Hills
ChildrenHONK! QUACK! BOO! by Tad Hills
by Tad Hills
ChildrenROCKET'S MIGHTY WORDS by Tad Hills
by Tad Hills

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenTHANK YOU BEAR by Greg Foley
by Greg Foley
ChildrenMEET WOOF AND QUACK by Jamie A. Swenson
by Jamie A. Swenson
ChildrenI WILL SURPRISE MY FRIEND! by Mo Willems
by Mo Willems