WAVELENGTH by Angus Morrison
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Beneath the pasteboard villains and the wooden dialogue lurks the suspicion that Morrison, unable to decide whether the real target of his exposé should be international terrorism or home-grown avarice, has decided to slap them together in a single sandwich. Not this time."
Journalist/speechwriter Morrison (Bandwidth, 2010) buries a wonderful premise inside chapters and chapters of exposition. Read full book review >
RAZOR GIRL by Carl Hiaasen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Relax, enjoy, and marvel anew at the power of unbridled fictional invention."
Rejoice, fans of American madness who've sought fulfillment in political reportage. South Florida's master farceur (Skink—No Surrender, 2014, etc.) is back to reassure you that fiction is indeed stranger than truth. Read full book review >

DARKTOWN by Thomas Mullen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A great historical subject deserves better than this by-the-numbers rendition."
A pair of rookie black cops in 1948 Atlanta uncover political corruption and conspiracy when they stumble on to a murder case. Read full book review >
BLOOD WEDDING by Pierre Lemaitre
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Atmospheric and chilling and packed with Lemaitre's trademark twists and turns."
Lemaitre introduces a cast of characters who would be right at home in the Bates Motel in this thriller about a disturbed woman and the chaos that follows her. Read full book review >
DOTWAV by Mike A. Lancaster
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"This one's a page-turner. (Thriller. 12 & up)"
Combining a love of science fiction with modern technology and some very original thinking, this novel takes a look at some of society's preconceived notions from a slightly off-kilter view. Read full book review >

GHOSTS OF HAVANA  by Todd Moss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Former government official Moss offers a lively, informed, and timely political novel about Cuba's future and America's role in it."
After Havana seizes the fishing boat of four Americans in Cuban waters and holds them captive, the U.S. State Department sends its ace crisis strategist Judd Ryker to the island on a mission that grows more and more mysterious. Read full book review >
Mammoth by Douglas Perry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Bursting with vigor and electrified characters and with an ending the author stamps with a knowing wink."
A small group deals with the fallout of a California ski-resort town whose residents have mysteriously vanished in Perry's (Eliot Ness: The Rise and Fall of an American Hero, 2015, etc.) thriller.Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
RED RIGHT HAND by Chris Holm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A good choice for thriller fans."
A fast-moving novel featuring the return of hit-man hitter and antihero Michael Hendricks (The Killing Kind, 2015). Read full book review >
THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS by Jason Arnopp
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The devil may find work for idle hands, but that doesn't mean incessantly clever ones should rest easy."
A pop-culture journalist finds himself entangled in a case of demonic possession in this slick metathriller. Read full book review >
THE SOUL OF THE MATTER by Bruce Buff
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Back to the lab."
The discovery of genetic information that unlocks the mysteries of life and creation challenges two scientists and imperils their lives. Read full book review >
The Good Spy Dies Twice by Mark Hosack
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"So many twists it's practically gyrating, but an undeniably spry and rousing espionage tale."
A disgraced journalist tackles a story his newlywed wife had been covertly researching, involving Russians, spies, and murder at an Alaskan ski resort in this thriller. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Andrea Beaty
August 30, 2016

In Andrea Beaty and David Roberts’ new picture book Ada Twist, Scientist is like her classmates, builder Iggy and inventor Rosie: scientist Ada, a character of color, has a boundless imagination and has always been hopelessly curious. Why are there pointy things stuck to a rose? Why are there hairs growing inside your nose? When her house fills with a horrific, toe-curling smell, Ada knows it’s up to her to find the source. Not afraid of failure, she embarks on a fact-finding mission and conducts scientific experiments, all in the name of discovery. But this time, her experiments lead to even more stink and get her into trouble! Inspired by real-life makers such as Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, Ada Twist, Scientist champions girl power and women scientists, and brings welcome diversity to picture books about girls in science. “Cool and stylish,” our reviewer writes. View video >