BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Kirkus Star

BOYS DON'T KNIT

Age Range: 12 - 16
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard.

Probation requires him to keep a journal using a template, which he considers beneath him, as he’s been keeping a diary for years. But he soldiers on, hilariously recounting the details of the “Great Martini Heist” and its aftermath. He’s also required to take a community college class. The pathetic choices include car maintenance, taught by his father, a mechanic who’s always trying to get Ben (not a sports fan) to go with him to soccer matches. Ben opts for knitting because he has a crush on the teacher. When it turns out she’s actually teaching pottery, he’s stuck with knitting and stuck in a lie, unable to admit to his father and friends what he’s up to. It turns out that he’s a natural at knitting, able to appreciate the mathematical precision of the patterns and create his own. When Ben’s coerced into entering a knitting contest, the jig is up. Despite some unnecessary Americanization of the text, this wonderfully funny novel is infused with British slang, including dozens of terms easily understood in context.

Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging. (Fiction. 12-16)

Pub Date: March 24th, 2015
ISBN: 978-1-250-05331-2
Page count: 272pp
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1st, 2015




BEST TEEN BOOKS OF 2015 THAT FIND THE FUNNY:

ChildrenWE ARE ALL MADE OF MOLECULES by Susin Nielsen
by Susin Nielsen
ChildrenBOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
by T.S. Easton
ChildrenFINDING AUDREY by Sophie Kinsella
by Sophie Kinsella

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

FictionADRIAN MOLE by Sue Townsend
by Sue Townsend
ChildrenSWIM THE FLY by Don Calame
by Don Calame